Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
yacsap
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:44 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

DHCP offered but never bound

Thu May 14, 2020 1:24 am

Hi all,

We have 1 computer on DHCP client, from MikroTik log, it says DHCP offered but never bound.
Screen Shot 2020-05-14 at 10.20.36 AM.png
What might be the issue?

Cheers
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
[ IMikroTik ] >
 
yacsap
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:44 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: DHCP offered but never bound

Sun May 17, 2020 11:59 pm

No one has the clue?
[ IMikroTik ] >
 
mducharme
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 980
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:45 pm

Re: DHCP offered but never bound

Mon May 18, 2020 1:03 am

No one has the clue?
The device is not accepting the offer. You may have one way communication (broadcast from the device can reach the DHCP server but the response packet from DHCP server cannot reach the device). It is also possible that the device is ignoring the offer because maybe it has gotten an offer from another DHCP server on the same network more quickly than the MikroTik.
 
User avatar
bpwl
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: DHCP offered but never bound

Mon May 18, 2020 11:18 am

No one has the clue?
Tried to find a clue, several times, and many people did (like in : viewtopic.php?f=2&t=116963) . But so far I only see things that might make it work, without understanding why.
Things like disabling the STP protocol on the bridge. (some suspect timing issues with STP and even RSTP when a WLAN has to wake up etc ...)
The process is well known ... http://www.tcpipguide.com/free/t_DHCPLe ... cess-2.htm , but the Mikrotik DHCP seems to have a problem when probing the offered address at the end. Failing that, and dropping the bound status. But it is not clear what the cause is, or how to remediate it. (broadcast setting, authority setting, delay setting, other DHCP server, ...)

Even once had a problem with a disabled DHCP server in a Linksys gateway, that sent an DHCPNAK to every request that it saw ...... .A special interpretation of the status "disabled" ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 79 guests