Community discussions

MikroTik App

jabbc
just joined
Topic Author

CAN'T CONNECT TO SOPHOS FIREWALL THROUGH MY MIKROTIK

Wed May 20, 2020 5:50 pm

Hello,

I'm new to Mikrotik and I'm using a CCR1036-12G-4S v6.45.6 to provide internet services to a few home users.

2 users have difficulty establishing VPN connections from their Sophos client (on PC) at home to their Sophos firewall server at the office.

I'm using pppoe to connect multiple users on my Mikrotik NAS which connects to my core router where my ISP connects to. Users can browse fine just these 2 users can't connect to their Sophos VPN servers. They can however, connect to their servers using other mobile networks as hotspot.

I thought since I was providing a transparent internet service to the clients I'm basically a pipe through the internet for them and shouldn't interrupt their protocols just as I don't interrupt their browsing.

I read online about opening ports 50,51.1701,1723,500,4500 which I have done but complaint still persists.

Please what can I do to resolve this?

I'll appreciate your help. Thanks.

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: CAN'T CONNECT TO SOPHOS FIREWALL THROUGH MY MIKROTIK

Wed May 20, 2020 7:21 pm

Very strange, I would have thought no changes were needed to even default firewall rules on a hex, in terms of PC clients going out what is internet traffic to a server.
Suggest maybe you have a firewall rule blocking it??

jabbc
just joined
Topic Author

Wed May 20, 2020 7:29 pm

Also found it strange when the first complaint came in. Dismissed it until the second request came in from another user in another location trying to connect to a sophos server.

The only firewall rules I had were for NAT and blocking port 25. Client claims they are trying to connect over port 500 for ike connections hence my reason for delibrately opening earler said ports.

Still no luck

ingdaka
Trainer
Trainer

Wed May 20, 2020 8:39 pm

Please check PPPoE server profile for TCP MSS which option is checked