MikroTik App

nevolex
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author

RB4011iGS No Internet available to hosts

Tue May 26, 2020 7:02 am

Hi guys,

I just purchased a RB4011iGS and having issues connect the hosts to the internet

The connection type that my IPS is using is IPoE Vlan10

I used a quicky setup and created a DHCP server, NAT, Public IP is "Automatic". Created a VLAN interface, assigned it to DCHP Client

Everything works from the router, I can ping 8.8.8.8 etc, the hosts get DHCP leases, but none of them can get to the internet, they can only ping my gateway 10.0.0.1

I am new to Mikrotik, can somebody please assist?

Thank you

nevolex
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author

Re: RB4011iGS No Internet available to hosts

Tue May 26, 2020 8:03 am

I got it resolved by adding a vlan interface (my internet is on vlan10)

Under Interface List"

Add: vlan10 ISP subinterface to "WAN", because in NAT Policies, the interfaces have now been combined to LAN and WAN in newer firmware

However I have an issue with DNS, when I go to DNS settings of the DHCP server and use DNS server as my router ip 10.0.0.1 it doesn't work, no DNS requests can be resolved

If I change it to 8.8.8.8 for example it works

Is it a bug or work as intended?
Last edited by nevolex on Tue May 26, 2020 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Tue May 26, 2020 11:17 am

It may be both but the latter is more likely. If allow-remote-requests under /ip dns is set to no, the DNS server doesn't respond to any DNS queries coming from outside the router, including from the LAN clients. It is only safe to change this setting to yes if you have at least the default firewall rules in place, as you need proper firewall rules to prevent DNS requests coming in via the WAN interface (from the internet) from being responded. Devices which respond to DNS queries over the WAN can be misused for (D)DoS attacks hiding the actual identity of the attacker.

nevolex
Member Candidate