Community discussions

MikroTik App

tutughosh
just joined
Topic Author

BGP Questions

Sat Jun 06, 2020 10:25 am

Hi
I am new in this field and I am looking for a Affordable Router/Switch to run two BGP Session with two Different Provider.

Does "Mikrotik Cloud Router Switch crs354-48g-4s+2q+rm" is able to run Two BGP session with Default Route or I have to use Static Route.

A suggestion would be highly appreciated.

ingdaka
Trainer
Trainer

Re: BGP Questions

Sat Jun 06, 2020 12:59 pm

Never use a switch as router...
Use a router depend on traffic you can use HEX or CCR1009! Default route just need to be advertised from ISP

tutughosh
just joined
Topic Author

Sat Jun 06, 2020 1:48 pm

Thanks for your reply. I appreciate your reply but the mentioned CCR1009 doesn't have much SPF+ port as we require minimal of 4.

mbovenka

Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:48 pm

Next question, how much routing performance do you need? A CRS354 will probably do 2 BGP sessions with just defaults just fine; that doesn't take much.

But it's no great shakes as a router; it'll do 300Mbps on a good day. Even something like a hEX will do better!

If it's a few SFP+ ports you need and routing performance to match for simple IPv4 unicast routing (but nothing else: no multicast, no NAT, no IPv6...) you might want to look at the CRS317 with the latest ROS7 beta. It does L3 hardware offload and can route as fast as it can switch. Within narrow limits.

Or the new CCR2004.

ingdaka
Trainer
Trainer

Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:48 pm

As mbovenka has noticed then you will need https://mikrotik.com/product/ccr2004_1g_12s_2xs, but if is to much traffic you will need a bigger one!

tutughosh
just joined
Topic Author

Sat Jun 06, 2020 6:42 pm

Hi Guys

We don't expect anything above 2-5G of traffic. Currently we are using Juniper EX4200 with an Average of 1G Traffic. Only thing we need to have 2 ISP for Redundancy. So either with Full BGP or with Static. Also we won't using IPv6, NAT, Multicast etc.