Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
craigreilly
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:04 pm

"Zoom" best practices

Tue Jul 21, 2020 11:26 pm

Anyone have a script or console commands that you have used to ensure Zoom is working as best as possible in your network?
We are hosting/moderating up to 15 meetings at a time for our customers, with all content coming from laptops here - and want to ensure our Mangle rules and others are set properly.
 
User avatar
rilliam
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:34 pm

Re: "Zoom" best practices

Fri Nov 06, 2020 5:08 am

I am curious how this went for you. I have been bombarded with zoom problems and they always seem to be mikrotik customers. I have tried disabling sip alg and udplite but it still seems like I get a lot of complaints from my customers at sites where I am running mikrotik routers and waps.

Today I found that zoom won't even connect it just hangs at the negotiating phase, where it displays "connecting". Both tested on a customers iphone and a laptop - and then the customer tried again at home and it worked fine. I worked with this customer through remote desktop verifying this. So something seems to be wrong with mikrotik and zoom but I havn't had a lot of time to spend on it.
 
craigreilly
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:04 pm

Re: "Zoom" best practices

Fri Nov 06, 2020 5:17 am

It's been solid. All I did was prioritize all of the Zoom IP's using an Address List.
 
elico
newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:23 am

Re: "Zoom" best practices

Fri Nov 06, 2020 1:36 pm

I am curious how this went for you. I have been bombarded with zoom problems and they always seem to be mikrotik customers. I have tried disabling sip alg and udplite but it still seems like I get a lot of complaints from my customers at sites where I am running mikrotik routers and waps.

Today I found that zoom won't even connect it just hangs at the negotiating phase, where it displays "connecting". Both tested on a customers iphone and a laptop - and then the customer tried again at home and it worked fine. I worked with this customer through remote desktop verifying this. So something seems to be wrong with mikrotik and zoom but I havn't had a lot of time to spend on it.
I really don't know but I am pretty sure zoom have enough infrastructure to overcome basic sip alg vendors compatibility issues.
I know that theoretically it's possible for a MikroTik setup to have such a scenario like you described but, it works for me.
It might be a site or a setup specific issue.
In any case of mangle rules first try to bypass them for the specific clients and destinations to make sure it's not a FW or routing rules issue.
 
User avatar
sjwrick
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 10:12 pm

Re: "Zoom" best practices

Wed Nov 18, 2020 3:11 am

It's been solid. All I did was prioritize all of the Zoom IP's using an Address List.
Where did you get the IPs? What are they?
 
alibloke
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 12:13 am

Re: "Zoom" best practices

Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:55 am

It's been solid. All I did was prioritize all of the Zoom IP's using an Address List.
Where did you get the IPs? What are they?
Probably from here:
https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/201362683
 
RiFF
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 9:35 pm

Re: "Zoom" best practices

Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:57 am

It's been solid. All I did was prioritize all of the Zoom IP's using an Address List.
Where did you get the IPs? What are they?
I can use IP address list from txt file, they are on end of this article - https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articl ... EPMQJMKAM4
Like this example - https://assets.zoom.us/docs/ipranges/Zoom.txt
 
ivicask
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:40 pm
Location: Croatia, Zagreb

Re: "Zoom" best practices

Wed Nov 18, 2020 1:10 pm

I also have zoom issues with mikrotik, getting stuck on connecting etc, can't figure what to do
 
ZschimmerIT
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:50 pm
Location: Germany

Re: "Zoom" best practices

Wed Jan 13, 2021 4:47 pm

Hi, I think I do have the same situation here.
All Zoom, lync, Skype etc apps making trouble.
There is always a text saying "bad internetconnection"...
We do have a 600MBit / 600MBit Line with traffic shaping on several networks to 25MBit each.
Also we have double- NAT because we are behind a Lancom Router with our RB3011...
Some people do have trouble to connect to external VPN Servers....
Tested over wifi and also with LAN connection. Both the same...
What can I do to debug?
I don't know where to start.
Airplay streaming from my phone to wifi speakers is working fine over the Mikrotik WAP_ac Antennas.
So I guess it's not the wifi...

Please help

Cheers
Certified MTCNA
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5943
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: "Zoom" best practices

Wed Jan 13, 2021 7:46 pm

We use many many different platforms in our house be it Zoom, skype, whatsapp, discord, MS teams, etc...... and dont have any issues.
I dont think MT needs any special setup for these standard communications platforms.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CZFan, kachovi and 166 guests