Community discussions

MikroTik App

swheeler
just joined
Topic Author

[FEATURE REQUEST] User Interface Overhaul?

Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:32 am

I've been using Mikrotik Products for over 10 years now and the only real gripe I have is the Winbox and Web UI. It hasn't changed in that same amount of time. Just seems counter intuitive and complicated. Would love to see an updated UI.

mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] User Interface Overhaul?

Wed Sep 23, 2020 3:08 pm

Both varieties of GUI closely follow CLI with regard to structure of configuration tree ... which makes it very convenient to exchange configuration advisories ... because it doesn't matter which xUI somebody uses. There have been some attempts to create simplified UI (such as QuickSet) which works for certain use cases. There are a few things configured in a slightly counter-intiutive manner (such as VLAN stuff or bridge with its dual personality), but GUI as a whole is great for power-users because it doesn't hide/take away anything.

Hence my 5c: don't completely overhaul UI, some minor changes would do.

Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Wed Sep 23, 2020 4:15 pm

If you have at least basic understanding of network stuff, then WinBox is intuitive, the structure is mostly logical and you can configure almost anything you want. Some things can be improved (like already mentioned bridge vlans), but otherwise it's perfect, sitting nicely between all-powerfull raw Linux and some dumbed down UIs you can see everywhere else. I can understand that someone may want it simpler, but the challenge is how to do it and not limit possibilities. Look at tons of simple routers where you can configure few basic things, and if you want anything "advanced", you can't have it. No thanks.

tippenring

Wed Sep 23, 2020 11:07 pm