Page 1 of 1

New Winboxes can`t connect older RoS via L2

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 11:05 pm
by fleg
I have a strange issue with new Winboxes (not only newest I think), I can`t connect to the older devices with some older RoS via L2...I tried connect...I can see 3 dots logining in and then disconnecting. E.g. I was with the customer today and there is one CRS switch (1xx) with IP 0.0.0.0.
I wanted to fix its IP but I can`t connect via L2 with my 2 newest Winbox versions.
Is there any issue with older RoS and newer Winbox versions?

Re: New Winboxes can`t connect older RoS via L2

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 11:47 pm
by Sob
I'm not sure about L2, but there have been some breaking changes with L3. Very old RouterOS (5.x and older) is not supported for about two years. And I think 6.43 and newer doesn't work by default either, but you can enable Tools->Legacy Mode if you need it. I guess L2 should be similar.

Re: New Winboxes can`t connect older RoS via L2

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 2:47 pm
by fleg
I already known it, of course I try to set up legacy mode too. No change.
I`ll be with the customer on Monday but I`m afraid I have to be reset to the default his switch because I have no way how can I log in with 0.0.0.0 IP.
I always tried mac telnet from another MTs in the network but I can`t connect too.

Re: New Winboxes can`t connect older RoS via L2

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:48 pm
by mkx
How about downloading an old version of winbox? There's a forum topic about that.

Re: New Winboxes can`t connect older RoS via L2

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 8:55 pm
by Sob
If it's something ancient, last WinBox version that will work is 3.12.