Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
proxy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:18 am

Upload-Limit

Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:44 pm

can mikrotik Limit Upload ???/
 
GJS
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: London

Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:20 am

Yes, of course. Just the same as limiting download. In simple queues this is all in one entry separated by / e.g. 128000/512000. In queue trees you need to specify separate queues for up and down.
Guy

wispuk.org
A Forum Community for UK WISPs
 
tonnie
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 7:37 pm

Fri Dec 31, 2004 5:32 pm

Yes, of course. Just the same as limiting download. In simple queues this is all in one entry separated by / e.g. 128000/512000. In queue trees you need to specify separate queues for up and down.
Does that really work? I did something like above (simple queue) but when I look at the Bps column, only one side of the / shows activity....

I configured MT 2.8.21 as a transparent bridge for traffic shapping, but it seems only one side of the shape (download) is working. Any better way to do it?

Thanks in anticipation of your cherished assistance....

Tonnie
 
GJS
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: London

Mon Jan 03, 2005 3:21 am

I've never seen that before, where only one direction shows activity in the list of simple queues. However, I'm not using the router as a bridge, but as a full NAT router.

Perhaps send your supout file to support@mikrotik.com.
Guy

wispuk.org
A Forum Community for UK WISPs
 
User avatar
mag
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Contact:

Mon Jan 03, 2005 11:34 am

...However, I'm not using the router as a bridge, but as a full NAT router.
sorry for the OT, but could you comment about NAT'ed payload, particularly DNS requests. are they translated correctly? i.e. will an outside client see the correct public ip-address, if there's a DNS-server behind NAT.

i've been asking this in http://www.mikrotik.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1534 but nobody answered yet.

tia.
   matthias
 
tonnie
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 7:37 pm

Mon Jan 03, 2005 2:03 pm

[quote="GJS"]I've never seen that before, where only one direction shows activity in the list of simple queues. However, I'm not using the router as a bridge, but as a full NAT router.

I tried that earlier on, but with the same observation. What interface did you put your queue on?

Cheers!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gabrielwelch190, IL76, smartnetworks, yshaka and 86 guests