Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
hneel
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 8:13 pm

What are correct basic rates for 5GHz?

Wed Jan 13, 2021 1:10 pm

My AP is a Hap AC2.
I have a problem with Windows laptops that can't connect to 5Ghz band. Android phones however have no problem.

A snippet from the (long) error report from Windows:
Gedetailleerde hoofdoorzaak:
802.11-verbinding is mislukt door statuscode 18: de koppeling is geweigerd omdat het aanvragende station niet alle gegevenssnelheden in de parameter BSSBasicRateSet ondersteunt
Sorry, it's in dutch. It says that there's something wrong with the basic rates.
What are the correct settings? At first it was 'default'. According to inssider that meant 6mbps. I've tried to add 12 and 24, like I saw on another AP, but that didn't help.
 
hneel
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 8:13 pm

Re: What are correct basic rates for 5GHz?

Wed Jan 13, 2021 1:16 pm

Here are my settings:
[admin@MikroTikZolder] > export
# jan/13/2021 12:12:59 by RouterOS 6.45.8
# software id = UXTY-27Y3
#
# model = RBD52G-5HacD2HnD
# serial number = XXXXXXXXXXXX
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n country=netherlands disabled=no frequency=2462 mode=ap-bridge name="wlan1 (2.4)" ssid=XXXXXXXXXXXX wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac basic-rates-a/g=6Mbps,12Mbps,24Mbps channel-width=20/40/80mhz-XXXX country=netherlands disabled=no frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge name="wlan2 (5)" rate-set=configured ssid=XXXXXXXXXXXX supported-rates-a/g=6Mbps,12Mbps,24Mbps,48Mbps,54Mbps wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add name=WAN
add name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" mode=dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa-pre-shared-key=XXXXXXXXXXXX wpa2-pre-shared-key=XXXXXXXXXXXX
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface="wlan1 (2.4)"
add bridge=bridge1 interface="wlan2 (5)"
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether5
/interface list member
add interface="wlan1 (2.4)" list=WAN
add interface="wlan2 (5)" list=WAN
add interface=ether1 list=LAN
add interface=ether2 list=LAN
add interface=ether3 list=LAN
add interface=ether4 list=LAN
add interface=ether5 list=LAN
/ip address
add address=10.0.0.91/24 interface=ether1 network=10.0.0.0
/ip dns
set servers=8.8.8.8
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=10.0.0.98
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Amsterdam
/system identity
set name=MikroTikZolder
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24793
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: What are correct basic rates for 5GHz?

Wed Jan 13, 2021 1:23 pm

The defaults should work with any windows laptop. Try this command:

/interface wireless> reset-configuration wlan1
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1251
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: What are correct basic rates for 5GHz?

Wed Jan 13, 2021 2:21 pm

Gedetailleerde hoofdoorzaak:
802.11-verbinding is mislukt door statuscode 18: de koppeling is geweigerd omdat het aanvragende station niet alle gegevenssnelheden in de parameter BSSBasicRateSet ondersteunt
(Deepl.com translation:)
Detailed root cause:
802.11 connection failed due to status code 18: The link has been rejected because the requesting station does not support all the data rates in the BSSBasicRateSet parameter

What it says .... your Windows PC (requesting station) does not support the Basic rates announced by the AP. In other words: the AP announces basic rates "basic-rates-a/g=6Mbps,12Mbps,24Mbps" , but the Windows PC does not support all of them. The PC may support 6 Mbps but maybe not 12 or not 24., or just another combination.

If you play with "basic rate/supported rate" make sure you understand what they mean and when they are used, or just don't fiddle with them. Using basic rates 6,12,24 is a bit odd in this. (I would understand 6 or 6,9,12 or 9,12,18 or 12,18,24 or 18,24 or 24 for basic rates. Mostly the lowest value is used. 6Mps is always used for the first request from the client even if disabled on the AP.) Supported rates must always include all basic rates and normally have more (higher) rates. These supported rate settings must support all basic rates indicated on both devices.

So the error says: the supported rates on the Windows PC do not include 6,12 and 24 Mbps, which are announced by the AP.
 
hneel
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 8:13 pm

Re: What are correct basic rates for 5GHz?

Wed Jan 13, 2021 4:31 pm

The defaults should work with any windows laptop. Try this command:

/interface wireless> reset-configuration wlan1
I did this (except on wlan2, wlan1 is on 2.4Ghz and had no problem). Then I set some basic settings and now it works again!

set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n country=netherlands disabled=no frequency=2462 mode=ap-bridge name="wlan1 (2.4)" ssid=XXXXXX wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n country=netherlands disabled=no mode=ap-bridge name="wlan2 (5)" ssid=YYYYYY wireless-protocol=802.11
It's not optimal yet though, so I will optimize it one step at a time now.

Thanks!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bandini981, Bing [Bot], Kindis, ros44, volkirik and 211 guests