Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
chrismal
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:40 pm

css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Thu Jan 14, 2021 9:47 am

Hi, I got my switch uplinked via 10G DAC Active (DAC fs.com https://www.fs.com/de-en/products/74625 ... &id=147869 ) on the switch I keep getting these error Rx MAC Errors, Rx FCS Errors and Tx Pauses, switch firmware v 2.12.

Do SWOS have SFP+ bugs?

thanks,

regards
 
chrismal
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:40 pm

Re: css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Fri Jan 15, 2021 9:24 pm

Anything?

Thanks
 
User avatar
Wolfraider
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Fri Jan 15, 2021 10:06 pm

The RB4011 SFP+ port is a little weird. We have had much better luck using a couple of these and a patch cable https://www.fs.com/products/11556.html? ... &id=162909
 
chrismal
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:40 pm

Re: css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Sat Jan 16, 2021 4:04 pm

The problem looks to be solved by cleaning the DAC's SFP modules.
 
nescafe2002
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Sat Jan 16, 2021 4:22 pm

Did you clean the connector or the optical side? And how?
 
chrismal
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:40 pm

Re: css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Sat Jan 16, 2021 4:54 pm

I cleaned the part that goes into the switch, not a great way to clean but I used a cotton cloth, will see if errors will show up, usually I get errors right away, but will see
 
chrismal
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:40 pm

Re: css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Sat Jan 16, 2021 5:57 pm

scrap that, 1Rx FCS Error came up, its just 1 but still not good
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1326
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Sat Jan 16, 2021 6:22 pm

There were problems with using the SFP+ port on the 4011 with DAC cables in the past. The issue has been fixed in RouterOS, but we still use optical connections on 4011s and have no issues.

I would change to optical and see if the FCS errors continue.
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Español | Serbian | Danish +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/ecosystem/mikr ... consulting mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
chrismal
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:40 pm

Re: css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Sat Jan 16, 2021 6:34 pm

There were problems with using the SFP+ port on the 4011 with DAC cables in the past. The issue has been fixed in RouterOS, but we still use optical connections on 4011s and have no issues.

I would change to optical and see if the FCS errors continue.
Thanks for the suggestion, I will try that.
 
chrismal
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:40 pm

Re: css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:01 pm

update.
The problem was the FS.com DAC, I got the XS+DA0001 DAC from Mikrotik and it works great.
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 442
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: css326 and rb4011 getting errors with 10G SFP+ uplink

Mon Feb 22, 2021 9:26 pm

About this particular cable: can someone explain to me why this one works in the 4011, while others (sfp+) do not?
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Halfeez92, pcunite and 198 guests