Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
elkolo23
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 9:30 pm

something killing my ap

Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:02 am

it happends to me that everyday at about 18:00 my pings jump from 10ms to 2000-3000
i thinks it could be p2p so i dropped p2p and it lowered pings but somtimes it jumps agains so messed uo a bit with connection limit from 100 to 10 then to 50 and so on but noticed user could not login to msn and yahoo,, nor even open https so left in 100 connection limit,,, now am beginning to think about a virus messing up my networkk...

could you help me out what is the problem and a possible solution..

perhaps am blocking microsoft sharing port and port scanners.
 
User avatar
cholegm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 7:43 pm
Location: Gornji Milanovac, Serbia
Contact:

Re: something killing my ap

Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:00 am

1. Use torch to see what makes big ping!

2. Is that wireless or ethernet link?

Write me with results!

P.S.
You can drop port scaners, p2p, connection limit (=15,32), ... , and drop every second connection on some port!
But with that you slowdown your MikroTik RB/PC and your network!


Regards,
Mladen
 
elkolo23
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 9:30 pm

Re: something killing my ap

Tue Jul 24, 2007 6:40 pm

wireless connection

my mk is blockin p2p, connection limit=100/32
also dropping port scanners..

sometimes i lower connection limit but my networks turns slow as a snail so i have to raise it again.

ill try orch and se were the problem could be..
 
User avatar
cholegm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 7:43 pm
Location: Gornji Milanovac, Serbia
Contact:

Re: something killing my ap

Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:00 pm

First of all,
what routerboard you have?

may be is to slow to do the JOB!

And use torch (/tool torch) from winbox... select are box... and look for ip with hight bandwidth, or meny connections...
If you find something... Drop it and check MT... If noting... :/


You can try this:
/queue interface set "in-interface" queue=wireless-default

You can add queue=wireless-default on every queue rule!
I was have a problem with 10 PC in network that runing Counter Strike.
This rule help me!

if your connection limit is 100 per IP (100,32)... that is the same case as you don't have enyone rule! Every legal OS have 10 sesions... Torrent kill that rule and make 30-40 sesions and more... But you say that you kill P2P connections! With that rule you can't drop usenext, newsbin...
 
elkolo23
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 9:30 pm

Re: something killing my ap

Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:29 pm

ok my mikrotik is running on pentium xeon 2.4ghz with 1gb memory,,,

i have found with torch an ip which has alot of smtp connections on port 25 and i think is not normal as other users dont have this connection.... also what would a resonable connection limit assuming my customers are residential and cybercafes with 10 pc each.

ive noticed if i reduce connection limit to 50 it will not allow hotmail or yahoo or not even https connections and network get slow
 
User avatar
cholegm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 7:43 pm
Location: Gornji Milanovac, Serbia
Contact:

Re: something killing my ap

Wed Jul 25, 2007 12:03 pm

That smtp connections is some SPAMER! Kill that IP... And find that host... And reinstall OS!!!

IF?!
You have customer with some IP, you customer have router with that IP, and customer have network behind router (Cybercafe PCs)?!
And if you set connection limit 50,32. You limit connections for that router to 50 sesions. That means that your customers 10 PCs is limited to 50 sesions (10PC x 10Sesions = 100 Sesions :( ).
Better remove that rule!
ENG IF!

Is your AP are some AP-BRIDGE connected to ethernet or PCI card in your PC (MikroTik)?
 
elkolo23
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 9:30 pm

Re: something killing my ap

Fri Jul 27, 2007 9:41 pm

my ap is a highgainantenas 8186hpmaxx with realtek chip at 800mw and my cpe are smartbridges airpoint outdoor model
..You have customer with some IP, you customer have router with that IP, and customer have network behind router (Cybercafe PCs)?!
YES


if i set connection limit to 100,32 that will allow 100 sessions per user?? or per al mikrotik router?
 
User avatar
cholegm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 7:43 pm
Location: Gornji Milanovac, Serbia
Contact:

Re: something killing my ap

Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:55 pm

Your customers as client have MTs or some other routers!?
And if is like that every customer have an public IP.

If you set rule "connection-limit=100/32 on your AP. That means that every your customer is limited to 100 sesions! (100 sesions per host).
And if you set connection limit 50,32. You limit connections for that router to 50 sesions. That means that your customers 10 PCs is limited to 50 sesions (10PC x 10Sesions = 100 Sesions ).
Better remove that rule!
.
my ap is a highgainantenas 8186hpmaxx with realtek chip at 800mw and my cpe are smartbridges airpoint outdoor model
I don't what is it! But I known this. Simple divice as Pheenet 118C+ in AP mode can accept ~20 clients (CPU is small to do the job). Check how meny clients can have your AP.

Second problem can be your big power. 800mW i't general to big for city.
May be your AP make big noise (interferense) and killing him self!!! :(
 
elkolo23
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 9:30 pm

Re: something killing my ap

Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:37 pm

my customers do not have MT router,, they use smartbridges brand cpe
they do not use public ip,, they use private nat ip
my ap has 12 clients and i think its cpu runs at 200mhz

noise level is at -100
 
airnetgt
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 2:20 am
Location: Dubai

Re: something killing my ap

Sat Nov 10, 2007 7:33 pm

i have the same problem identical but i resolve it leaving a max number client so the MK doesnt freeze , try this maybe can help you
Mikrotik is for all share your knowledge...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Znevna and 94 guests