Community discussions

 
sebac
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:16 am

2 intenet connections, possible to "bond" them?

Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:55 am

I got 1Mbps net connection and i set my router to share it and it works.
Now i buyed another connection of 1Mbps (on a remote spot).

On both sites is MT box with PPTP server.

Now what i wonna do is dial pptp client connection to secundary site.
Is it possible when i connect to primary box so i get 2Mbps internet connection?

Hope you understand what i wont 2 do and sorry on bad english.

Image
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 2 intenet connections, possible to "bond" them?

Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:16 pm

are primary and secondary MT connected any other way but ISPs?

if they are connected than yes.

check wiki for examples on load-ballancing
 
cmacneill
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 294
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: 2 intenet connections, possible to "bond" them?

Fri Jul 27, 2007 3:54 am

Be careful about terminology, Bonding implies you have a single transparent pipe carried over two or more connections. This can only be done in two ways, the best way is using ML-PPP with an ISP that supports it, the problem is MT doesn't support ML-PPP! The only other way to Bond is to use EoIP tunnels, but that needs EoIP to be supported by the ISP, I've never heard of one that does.

If all you want to do is create a VPN across the Internet, then Bonding EoIP tunnels will work as you can install MT routers at both ends of the VPN and the ISP will route transparently.

The only realistic option you have for improving Internet bandwidth is Load Balancing where sessions are alternately allocated to the two connections, the problem is that no one session can exceed the speed of a single connection and the method of allocation of sessions is arbitrary so the connections are unlikely to each take exactly 50% of the traffic.

A request has been made to MikroTik to support ML-PPP, if you wish to help get this feature added, visit the new features Wiki page and vote for it.

In the meantime the only way to do true transparent ML-PPP bonding is either to use a generic Linux platform or use a specially engineered version, e.g. BondedCD http://www.upstreaminter.net/fm/. Some people can achieve up to 20Mbps download and 2.4Mpbs upload over 4 x 8Mbps ADSL lines, but actual results appear to have some limitations in some locations in the UK. I have a BondedCD installation with 3 x 8Mbps connections, this only gives 5.5Mbps download, but I get 1.6Mbps upload, this link is primarily for VPN traffic, so although higher download bandwidth would be nice the Bonding is providing good upload speeds.
 
sebac
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:16 am

Re: 2 intenet connections, possible to "bond" them?

Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:06 am

thanks to both. i will test both advices. check again later on this post.

janisk --> all connections are made. if i can choose something else than 1Mbps i would already taken it. i can't choose ISP because there is only one ISP that gives ADSL :(

i wont 2 connect them PPTP (they can be connected via EoIP).
MT1 and MT2 are connected 2 same network (can ping and all).
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 2 intenet connections, possible to "bond" them?

Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:58 am

so these 2 routers are reachable through your local area network

then best solution is load balancing. as bonding needs support from your ISP that is usually a problem
 
raymonvdm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:47 pm

Re: 2 intenet connections, possible to "bond" them?

Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:48 am

I think u could use this sollution. But its based on a single MT box.

But maybe u can do this

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Load_Balancing
 
titius
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Re: 2 intenet connections, possible to "bond" them?

Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:07 pm

that is not bonding.

And no sebac, you can not make your idea possibile, unless, ISP guys make you a favor and put teo mikrotiks at their side, but they wont do it ;) .

______________________________________________

http://titelskibreg.net

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 90 guests