Page 1 of 1

BGP "open sent"

Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:14 pm
by gyoztes
Hi all,

please help me!

I reached the number of routers when I try to use any dynamic route. I choose iBGP. I begin to use in the first 6 routers, but some of the routers don't communicate each other. I do it when I read on help and wiki.

1., all versions >=2.9.41
2., firewalls similar, and opened to tcp 179
3., I read all forum
4., I read all wiki
5., links are mikros and very stables, all are point to point

So it's seems so easy, but don't work well.
(1) connected to (2) and (3), and vica versa
(4) connected to (6), and vica versa
other dont connected to each other
status are "open sent"

question: where is the problem, and what can I do?

gyoztes

Re: BGP "open sent"

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:07 am
by karyal
Hi all,

please help me!

I reached the number of routers when I try to use any dynamic route. I choose iBGP. I begin to use in the first 6 routers, but some of the routers don't communicate each other. I do it when I read on help and wiki.

1., all versions >=2.9.41
2., firewalls similar, and opened to tcp 179
3., I read all forum
4., I read all wiki
5., links are mikros and very stables, all are point to point

So it's seems so easy, but don't work well.
(1) connected to (2) and (3), and vica versa
(4) connected to (6), and vica versa
other dont connected to each other
status are "open sent"

question: where is the problem, and what can I do?

gyoztes
Check you can ping the point-to-point ip, check the log for errors, enable extended logging for bgp, use 2.9.38 (we had problems with any version higher than 2.9.38 with RB532, did not test 2.9.45 yet. Note that we actually had to upgrade to 2.9.43 on x86 MT version, instead).
Bye,
ricky

Re: BGP "open sent"

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:11 pm
by gyoztes
Thank Karyal!
Check you can ping the point-to-point ip
(tested)
check the log for errors
(empty)
enable extended logging for bgp
(log just succedded)
use 2.9.38 (we had problems with any version higher than 2.9.38 with RB532, did not test 2.9.45 yet. Note that we actually had to upgrade to 2.9.43 on x86 MT version, instead).
not tested. I use only x86 (here)
Would you be so kind to post your export? (1 instace, and 1 peer) I like to check all of my params.

gyoztes