Page 1 of 1

RouterOS as a traffic shapper

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:16 am
by kolorasta
I have a RouterOS in a PC working as a traffic shapper, like the example given in the wiki.

I want to do shape traffic in this way:
1- having different groups of users classified by address lists in /firewall/address_lists
2- have traffic priorization on the whole network depending on ports (ex http high priority)
3- apply different speed limits to clients depending on the address lists they are in

i know it is possible to do something like this. But i´m lost, i don´t know where to start. Any ideas?
Do you think this is a good idea to implement that policy in a medium size network? (i´m a wisp with 150clients).

sorry for my poor english.

Re: RouterOS as a traffic shapper

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 3:04 pm
by sergejs
Kolorosta, yes it is very good and logical policy for the medium network.
The particular examples are covered at the MikroTik advanced training for the QoS,
http://training.mikrotik.com
Such kind of example is covered in details.

Shortly, configuration scenario should be like this,
- create few groups with mangle and address-list.
- use previosly created mangle marks (they should come from chain=prerouting) to set limit for the clients. Probably PCQ will be more effective to equalize/limit data between the clients. PCQ configuration examples are available at the documentation and wiki.
- create additional mangle rules for priority, these rules are added at chain=forward, limit-at and max-limit-at are not required for priority rules. Add these rules to queue simple and use local/remote interfaces for configuration.

Re: RouterOS as a traffic shapper

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 11:14 pm
by kolorasta
mmmm i think i will have to take an advanced trainning then... :)
thank you sergejs

Re: RouterOS as a traffic shapper

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:40 am
by kolorasta
sergejs, i have some doubt about this step:
- create additional mangle rules for priority, these rules are added at chain=forward, limit-at and max-limit-at are not required for priority rules. Add these rules to queue simple and use local/remote interfaces for configuration.
when you say "use local/remote interfaces for configuration" what do you mean. in simple queue only apear:
all
ether1
ether2
bridge1

Image

Which should i use?

remember that i have a transparent traffic shapper (like suggested in the wiki)

and when you say "limit-at and max-limit-at are not required for priority rules", you mean that i have to leave them setted as "unlimited" or i have to disable them unchecking the checkbox?
Image
if you say that i should leave the checkboxes checked and setted in "unlimited", what queue type should i use?
Image

What queue type should i use in total?
Image

thanks in advance

your configuration scenario was very helpful for me...

Re: RouterOS as a traffic shapper

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:36 am
by sergejs
Excuse me for misinformation, you have to use 'interfaces=all'.
You should leave untouched limit,max-limit,total-limit fields.

Re: RouterOS as a traffic shapper

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 4:47 pm
by kolorasta
zenkiu zenkiu zenkiu

Re: RouterOS as a traffic shapper

Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:59 pm
by kolorasta
sergejs, if i publish the configuration (code and if you want, images too) can you take a look at it... if you think it's all right, i will publish it step by step (uhh babyyyy :lol: ) how i accomplish in case it is useful to someone else.

Re: RouterOS as a traffic shapper

Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 7:58 pm
by rzirzi
sergejs, if i publish the configuration (code and if you want, images too) can you take a look at it... if you think it's all right, i will publish it step by step (uhh babyyyy :lol: ) how i accomplish in case it is useful to someone else.
Yeah, it wold be! But i have posted some configuration in post "queue tree priorities" but no one answered. I don/t know why - if there is real problem or questions with MikroTik - no one can/want to answer?!

Re: RouterOS as a traffic shapper

Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:15 pm
by kolorasta
ok ..let me get inspired to write the post.. and then i will publish the config here and i'm sure that some guru will help to tune it