Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
infomate
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 2:30 pm
Location: Dumaguete City, Philippines

2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Mon Aug 20, 2007 2:30 pm

Good day to every body.

I have just upgraded my system from 2.9.42 to 3.0 rc2 including user manager.

My 2.9 Hostspot was working fine before the upgrade. ROS 3 rc2 installed without problems but my Hotspot customers cannot connect to the net.

The log-on screen appears on the customer computer by freezes after typing the user name and password with no traffic from the server.

I have noticed the following:
There is an invalid dynamic entry with a jump-target= pre-hotspot on # 1
 0 D chain=dstnat action=jump jump-target=hotspot hotspot=from-client 

 1 I chain=hotspot action=jump jump-target=pre-hotspot

 2 D chain=hotspot action=redirect to-ports=64872 dst-port=53 protocol=udp 

 3 D chain=hotspot action=redirect to-ports=64872 dst-port=53 protocol=tcp 

 4 D chain=hotspot action=redirect to-ports=64873 hotspot=local-dst dst-port=80 
     protocol=tcp 

 5 D chain=hotspot action=redirect to-ports=64875 hotspot=local-dst 
     dst-port=443 protocol=tcp 

 6 D chain=hotspot action=jump jump-target=hs-unauth hotspot=!auth protocol=tcp 

 7 D chain=hotspot action=jump jump-target=hs-auth hotspot=auth protocol=tcp 

 8 D chain=hs-unauth action=return dst-address=210.4.17.233 in-interface=ether2 

 9 D chain=hs-unauth action=redirect to-ports=64874 dst-port=80 protocol=tcp 

10 D chain=hs-unauth action=redirect to-ports=64874 dst-port=3128 protocol=tcp 

11 D chain=hs-unauth action=redirect to-ports=64874 dst-port=8080 protocol=tcp 

12 D chain=hs-unauth action=redirect to-ports=64875 dst-port=443 protocol=tcp 

13 I chain=hs-unauth action=jump jump-target=hs-smtp dst-port=25 protocol=tcp 

14 D chain=hs-auth action=redirect to-ports=64874 hotspot=http protocol=tcp 

15 I chain=hs-auth action=jump jump-target=hs-smtp dst-port=25 protocol=tcp 


Then on the /ip firewall filter:
There is another invalid dynamic entry with jump-target=pre-hs-input on #3
 0 D chain=forward action=jump jump-target=hs-unauth hotspot=from-client,!auth 

 1 D chain=forward action=jump jump-target=hs-unauth-to hotspot=to-client,!auth 

 2 D chain=input action=jump jump-target=hs-input hotspot=from-client 

 3 I chain=hs-input action=jump jump-target=pre-hs-input 

 4 D chain=hs-input action=accept dst-port=64872 protocol=udp 

 5 D chain=hs-input action=accept dst-port=64872-64875 protocol=tcp 

 6 D chain=hs-input action=jump jump-target=hs-unauth hotspot=!auth 

 7 D chain=hs-unauth action=return dst-address=210.4.17.233 in-interface=ether2 

 8 D chain=hs-unauth action=reject reject-with=tcp-reset protocol=tcp 

 9 D chain=hs-unauth action=reject reject-with=icmp-net-prohibited 

10 D chain=hs-unauth-to action=return src-address=210.4.17.233 
     out-interface=ether2 

11 D chain=hs-unauth-to action=reject reject-with=icmp-host-prohibited 
I have deleted all dynamic entries and rebooted the system but the invalid dynamic entries are still present.
If a customer attempts to login no traffic passes through the firewall filter filter hs-input chain Hotspot servelet (ports 64872, 64873-64875). Traffic coming in from firewall filter input chain is forwarded to the hs-input chain but the first entry on the hs-input chain is the invalid entry with the jump target=pre-hs-input witch does not have any entry on it. Same is true for the NAT entries from dstnat chain jumping to the hotspot chain which jumps to the invalid pre-hotspot chain witch has no entry on it.

Help please... customers cannot connect......URGENT!

Robert
Philippines
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:59 pm

I recommend downgrading back to the 2.9.
That said; You should firstly do a system reset-configuration, prior to downgrade.
Then just to be sure you will not encounter any problems, do another system reset-configuration after downgrading.
Re-configure your AP from the ground up using mac-access winbox, or using serial console.

There are alot of diffences in the settings from 3.0 to 2.9.
 
User avatar
infomate
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 2:30 pm
Location: Dumaguete City, Philippines

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Sat Aug 25, 2007 2:02 pm

I reverted back to v3 rc1 and the firewall rules seem to be working fine...
This makes me think twice to upgrade to the next release candidate

Robert
 
channingzou
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:57 am
Location: NC,USA

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Sun Aug 26, 2007 6:16 am

I reverted back to v3 rc1 and the firewall rules seem to be working fine...
This makes me think twice to upgrade to the next release candidate

Robert
it just can run for few day then same broblem as RC2,so better go back 2.9.XX.
 
triac
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:35 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:23 am

Same problem for me, after upgrade from 2.9.46 to 3.0rc2 all cpe loosing connection with AP and hotspot stop to work. I've tried to reconnect some cpe (site survey recognize AP but when I try to connect it the surprise "Connect fail").
I've upgraded to 3.0rc3, same problem and 5 GHz link are much slow, with 2.9.6 and 3.0rc2 the link it's so fast!
With all 3.0 releases often the processor work at 100% without activity (tested on RB532 and RB153).

I've tried to downgrade to 2.9.46 and all wireless settings are lost. (ONLY wireless config... ?).
Last edited by triac on Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
kujtimhajredini
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: Prishtina
Contact:

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:29 pm

Kernel panic. Upgraded 2.9.43 to 3.0rc3
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3427
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:17 am

Kernel panic. Upgraded 2.9.43 to 3.0rc3
could you send us that kernel panic output and the support output file after that?
 
triac
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:35 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:14 pm

Hi kujtimhajredini,
today I've tried the same, from 2.9.44 to 3.0rc3 with 6x86 and RB532A, same problem "kernel panic" during restart :? .

Uldis, it's impossible to send supout file, the only way to resume the system it's re-install OS via netinstall or re-writing CF.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3427
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:36 am

Hi kujtimhajredini,
today I've tried the same, from 2.9.44 to 3.0rc3 with 6x86 and RB532A, same problem "kernel panic" during restart :? .

Uldis, it's impossible to send supout file, the only way to resume the system it's re-install OS via netinstall or re-writing CF.
Maybe you can connect using serial console and copy that kernel panic ans send it to support@mikrotik.com so we could know what exatly crashes. You can send us the support output file from v2.9.46 (before the upgrade to v3.0).
 
triac
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:35 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:30 pm

Hi Uldis,
I'm sorry for delay, some day ago we have had a small hurricane and my wireless network has been damaged from it. (many antennas destroyed...)
MT_Panic.jpg
"Kernel Panic - Not Syncing: No init Found. Try passing init= option to kernel"

this is the error after upgrade. With 3.02 or 3.03 upgrade.
I have the same error ONLY if I make upgrade from 2.9.x(?).
If I try to load 3.03 OS from netinstall I haven't boot errors.....

(PS I'll try to repeat all steps and I'll send You supout file of 2.9.46 before upgrade...)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3427
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:50 pm

Hi Uldis,
I'm sorry for delay, some day ago we have had a small hurricane and my wireless network has been damaged from it. (many antennas destroyed...)
MT_Panic.jpg
"Kernel Panic - Not Syncing: No init Found. Try passing init= option to kernel"

this is the error after upgrade. With 3.02 or 3.03 upgrade.
I have the same error ONLY if I make upgrade from 2.9.x(?).
If I try to load 3.03 OS from netinstall I haven't boot errors.....

(PS I'll try to repeat all steps and I'll send You supout file of 2.9.46 before upgrade...)
could you send us the support output file from your router when it is running v2.9 and also the backup file so we could try to upgrade the router with similar configuration to reproduce this problem.
Send both files to support@mikrotik.com
 
sdrenner
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:03 pm
Contact:

Re: 2.9 upgrade to ROS v3 RC2 broke hotspot

Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:37 pm

So who is going to pay for a new key?
I have 2 units that have this issue.

I don't feel that we as the customer should have to pay for a new key for an issue with an upgrade that should have worked.

Steve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 107 guests