Community discussions

 
airnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 12:46 pm

Uptime Challenge!

Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:27 pm

Who says cost effective = unreliable?

Still running 2.9.26 without a glitch for almost a year now.
uptime.GIF
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:57 pm

9246hours.GIF
9199hours.GIF
the same people who said the latest version is best?

this was 2.8.26 btw
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:07 pm

2.9.26 seems popular : )

[@br2] > /system resource print
uptime: 58w5d10h1m32s <- 411d
version: "2.9.26"
free-memory: 861212kB
total-memory: 905764kB
cpu: "Intel(R)"
cpu-frequency: 2992MHz
cpu-load: 3
free-hdd-space: 1885948kB
total-hdd-space: 1959016kB
write-sect-since-reboot: 49865424
write-sect-total: 55303064
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6615
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:55 am

Woh, great uptime.
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Wed Sep 19, 2007 9:55 am

----
Hai frens
congratulation for all, and why anyone else restart needed...?
i love your uptime. :wink:

regards
Hasbullah.com
----
 
nordex
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:47 pm

Just don't touch it.
It'll work.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Fri Sep 21, 2007 2:57 am

Needs to be some sort of dude tool to check this.. have to go over about 20 or so devices :-P
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Fri Sep 21, 2007 2:39 pm

here
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Fri Sep 21, 2007 4:44 pm

490days.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:55 am

I don't know why but one of my routers has rolled over it's uptime.
BGP sessions have been up longer than the uptime counter.

[@br2] routing bgp peer> print status
Flags: X - disabled
0 name="l3" instance=ebgp-1 remote-address=x remote-as=3356
tcp-md5-key="" multihop=no route-reflect=no hold-time=3m ttl=60
in-filter=level3-in out-filter=level3-out remote-id=x
uptime=8w1d23h28m42s prefix-count=11 remote-hold-time=3m
used-hold-time=3m used-keepalive-time=1m refresh-capability=yes
state=established

1 name="br1" instance=ebgp-1 remote-address=x remote-as=x
tcp-md5-key="" multihop=no route-reflect=no hold-time=3m ttl=1
in-filter=ibgp-in out-filter=ibgp-borders remote-id=x
uptime=17w6d23h8m33s prefix-count=733 remote-hold-time=3m
used-hold-time=3m used-keepalive-time=1m refresh-capability=yes
state=established

[@br2] routing bgp peer> /system resource print
uptime: 4d21h25m23s
version: "2.9.26"
free-memory: 860768kB
total-memory: 905764kB
cpu: "Intel(R)"
cpu-frequency: 2992MHz
cpu-load: 2
free-hdd-space: 1885632kB
total-hdd-space: 1959016kB
write-sect-since-reboot: 61887520
write-sect-total: 67325160

Somehow I went from 450+ days to rolling it over. I know the router didnt reboot. Weird.

Sam
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:07 pm

yep, time rolled over at approximately 496 days. Sten, can you check to see if your 490 day box rolled its time over already ? Just curious if it was my box only or some limit on uptime days in RouterOS.

Sam
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
jonmansey
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 3:43 am

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:31 am

afaik uptime is measured in ticks which are 100th of a second.

2^32 = 4294967296

so 2^32 ticks = about 497.1 days.

Im guessing they only use 32 bits long counter for uptime. hence the rollover.

jm
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:37 am

thats exactly it! so I supposed the uptime challenge ends at 497 days. bummer. maybe MT can change that to a 64 bit counter so in 2 years from now we can look back and still be counting.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24131
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:41 pm

we'll try to fix it, thanks :)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
caspat
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 3:55 pm

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:56 pm

Not Bad! ;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
ccdevnull
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 8:20 am

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Tue May 06, 2014 8:39 am

Uptime bug in routeros 5.22 ppc?

My uptime should be slightly more than 500days now. But it only shows 4 days.

But my PPPoE connection is 477 days (as it should be).

Is there a bug in routeros that it doesn't show uptime above 500 days correctly?
uptime_522.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
brainy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: Unterschleissheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Thu Oct 02, 2014 2:18 pm

we'll try to fix it, thanks :)
7 years later and still not fixed :(
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Thu Oct 02, 2014 2:30 pm

This is what a BGP Router should do. Just run :-)). RB1000 was a great device and 5.25 is the version which runs. Hope to see 6.25 anytime soon ;-)).


[admin@gw18] > system resource print
uptime: 56w3d10h23m34s
version: 5.25
free-memory: 1250708KiB
total-memory: 1555512KiB
cpu: e500v2
cpu-count: 1
cpu-frequency: 1333MHz
cpu-load: 16%
free-hdd-space: 25800KiB
total-hdd-space: 61440KiB
write-sect-since-reboot: 18704950
write-sect-total: 23133082
bad-blocks: 0%
architecture-name: powerpc
board-name: RB1000
platform: MikroTik
[admin@gw18] >
 
lbarbosa
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:16 am

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:34 pm

RB2011 w/OSPF, MPLS, QueueTree and Firewall rules running smoothly for almost a year!! Approx. 25 clients connected to site and a few PtP's. No restart needed, great!

[cnc@Site 26 (Panorama)] > system resource print
uptime: 45w6d19h36m53s
version: 6.12
build-time: Apr/14/2014 09:27:45
free-memory: 33.3MiB
total-memory: 64.0MiB
cpu: MIPS 74Kc V4.12
cpu-count: 1
cpu-frequency: 600MHz
cpu-load: 12%
free-hdd-space: 48.5MiB
total-hdd-space: 64.0MiB
write-sect-since-reboot: 1388868
write-sect-total: 2096657
bad-blocks: 0%
architecture-name: mipsbe
board-name: RB2011L
platform: MikroTik
 
brainy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: Unterschleissheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:41 pm

We have many RouterOS boxes where the uptime counter has overflowed many times, so some of the boxes have many years of uptime ...
 
User avatar
CyB3RMX
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 7:08 am

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Tue May 24, 2016 10:18 pm

One busy AP
- Toughput of +/- 43mbps,
- 52 CPE's registered

on a RB711GA-5HnD running 6.29.1 for almost a year without reboot.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Have a great day!
Certified: MTCNA - MTCWE - MTCRE
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:32 pm

1 year uptime, almost 10 pebibytes of data transferred, 2,6 Gbps average traffic :)
[admin@BR] > :put [ /sys reso get uptime ]                                   
52w1d18:09:13
[admin@BR] > :put ([ /int get ether3 tx-byte ] / 1024 / 1024 / 1024 / 1024)
9456
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
G2Dolphin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 6:03 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:41 pm

Nowhere to proof it have jumped over 32-bit counter (cmon, MikroTik, you're trying to fix that almost for 10 years :)), but that last link up time from the future... :)
121 days + 497 days of counter limit = 618 days as for now.
uptime.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Home: RB3011UiAS-IN (2011 case+3011-RM), hAP ac, mAP2n/mAP2nD, GrooveA-52HPn, hEX (r3), hAP lite, RB951G-2HnD
Work: RB2011UiAS-RM / UiAS-2HnD-IN, RB951G-2HnD, hEX (r3), CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN, CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1704
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:52 pm

Not so good but not so bad :-)
Up455.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
49er
Member
Member
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:55 am

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:03 pm

If security is no problem then the uptime is nice.
But if you make updates than you can't see this uptimes in Mikrotik because you need a reboot after you upload a new version.
 
User avatar
aacable
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:58 am
Location: ISLAMIC Republic of PAKISTAN
Contact:

Re: Uptime Challenge!

Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:21 pm

If security is no problem then the uptime is nice.
But if you make updates than you can't see this uptimes in Mikrotik because you need a reboot after you upload a new version.
& upgrading is very frequent in the ROS ;) , specially with the new 6.x breed, we see fixbug/upgrade releases very quickly some times every 10-15 days.
_____________
Regard's

Syed Jahanzaib
Web: http://aacable.wordpress.com
Email: aacable [at] hotmail.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 95 guests