Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
BilboBel
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:31 pm

WinBox error: Missing RouterOS WinBox plugins error

Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:47 pm

My winbox can't connect anywhere. Not even with the official demo. After a long forum search the closest match to my case is the message below. However I couldn't find any answer to this one. Has anyone solved it out?

> Hi guys,
>
> I've been using the 2.7 version of the RouterOS and Winbox for 2 months or
> so and I've been really pleased with it but the strangest thing happened
> today. I decided to reboot my computer and winbox would not connect to
the
> router. The program just hangs at "connecting to 10.1.1.1 (port 80)" and
> nothing happens.
>
> I didn't change anything at the router (no new rules etc). I've read the
> achieves and deleted the /documents and setting/user/application
> data/mikrotik folder. Downloaded the new binary from the router and run
it
> without any luck.
>
> I even searched my hd for virii and adware but nothing happens.
>
> Has anyone had this type of a problem before ?
>
> Oh BTW, I've tried it from another computer on the LAN and I am able to
> connect to the router. So, it's only my computer.
>
> Any ideas ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24550
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:45 pm

try re-downloading winbox from the router.

in the winbox loader, try clearing the cache

try deleting it's files in :

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\Mikrotik
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
BilboBel
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:31 pm

Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:23 pm

I ' ve done all of them but with no result :(
It is not a connectivity problem either since I can login via ssh at the mikrotik router.

Any other ideas?
 
User avatar
yeruult
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 3:10 am

Sat Jan 29, 2005 7:28 am

Is there any firewall chain working? Like hotspot. You must check firewall settings and nat.
 
User avatar
YazzY
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:26 pm
Location: Norway, Østfold
Contact:

Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:50 pm

This message appears when you run your winbox on port different from 80 or is disabled.
Check /ip services print
See if everything is okay
 
savage
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1220
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:07 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:32 pm

Just FYI... If the request is going through a improperly configured proxy, the proxy will deny winbox from connecting to the router.
Regards,
Chris
 
ajmal
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: IN

Re: WinBox error: Missing RouterOS WinBox plugins error

Mon Jan 31, 2005 8:49 pm

This message appears when you run your winbox on port different from 80 or is disabled.

check services using /ip services print
and also check your firewall rule,is your source ip is excluded or not
 
ehammond
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:39 pm

Tue Feb 08, 2005 11:47 pm

Is it possible to change winbox to different port than 80?
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Feb 09, 2005 6:53 am

Of course - under "/ip service"...
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
ehammond
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:39 pm

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:47 pm

Duh! Thanks cmit
 
User avatar
YazzY
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:26 pm
Location: Norway, Østfold
Contact:

Wed Feb 09, 2005 8:00 pm

Feels good to be quoted 3 times, even though when that's what it takes to make someone understand a thing :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], jerryd, WayneF and 84 guests