Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
sligbot
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 4:24 pm

can't seem to figure this out...

Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:14 am

I've been trying to setup 2 systems to pass data to one another but haven't had any success whatsoever...
If someone has any suggestions, they'd be greatly appreciated.
Here's where things stand...
Right now I'd be happy to hit my router (not Mikrotik router) at 192.168.0.1. System 1 has no problem to do so and I've connected System 1 to System 2 wirelessly and can ping and login using ssh successfuly without issue. My problem is that I'm trying to get System 2 to ping out to 192.168.0.1 and it just isn't working. I think I've got all the appropriate settings here. The idea is to bridge the two systems using either EoIP or (preferably) through routing. Suggestions are definitely appreciated.

System 1
NIC IP address: 192.168.0.21/24
Atheros IP address: 10.0.0.1/24
Routes:
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic,
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, d - dynamic
# DST-ADDRESS G GATEWAY DISTANCE INTERFACE
0 A C 10.0.0.0/24 wlan1
1 A C 192.168.0.0/24 ether1
2 A S 0.0.0.0/0 r 192.168.0.1 ether1

NAT:
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
0 chain=src-nat out-interface=wlan1 src-address=192.168.0.0/24
action=masquerade

System 2
NIC IP address: 192.168.0.20/24
Atheros IP address: 10.0.0.5/24
Routes:
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic,
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, d - dynamic
# DST-ADDRESS G GATEWAY DISTANCE INTERFACE
0 A C 10.0.0.0/24 wlan1
1 A S 192.168.0.0/24 r 10.0.0.1 wlan1
2 A S 0.0.0.0/0 r 10.0.0.1 wlan1

Routes:
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
0 chain=src-nat out-interface=wlan1 src-address=10.0.0.0/24
action=masquerade

Thanks in advance,
Rich
 
User avatar
YazzY
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:26 pm
Location: Norway, Østfold
Contact:

Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:45 am

I think one of following ways should meet your needs:

1. You can remove IPs on the wireless interfaces and bridge them with your NICs (or bridge WDS with your NICs). Then you can assign IP's to the bridge instead.
2. Bridge WDS or WLAN interface with your NIC and set up firewalling rules on your bridge so you dont mix both the networks together which can create some weird loops.
3. Try to add route to DST-ADDRESS 192.168.0.0/24 with preferred-source 10.0.0.5 and gateway 10.0.0.1 on System 2
 
edzix
Member
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 3:01 pm
Location: Latvia

Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:13 am

I think one of following ways should meet your needs:

1. You can remove IPs on the wireless interfaces and bridge them with your NICs (or bridge WDS with your NICs). Then you can assign IP's to the bridge instead.
there is actual-interface parameter under '/ip address' menu. So, there is no need actually to rest that IP wlan has to the newly created bridge interface. It could stay there as it is.

Edgars

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anav, dave864, harvey, sindy and 80 guests