Community discussions

 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:01 am

Loading system with initrd
Uncompressing Linux... Ok, booting the kernel.
ERROR: Could not find disk!
Please attach it somewhere else.
This is the error i get after upgrading from ROS 2.9.45 to ROS 3.0rc6

i read some other threads about this issue but none have a solution to this problem, and i could read that this happens with PCs with ROS in a hdd or cf, if you do a cd install or via winbox, it's the same. Some others say that this is a linux error, not a mikrotik error.

Will this error be fixed in future? or we will not be able to use ros 3 in those PCs?

(sorry for i poor english)
 
User avatar
maximan
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:10 am
Location: Rio Cuarto, Argentina
Contact:

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Wed Oct 17, 2007 1:08 am

Did you try with netinstall ??

M.
MKE Solutions > Professional Support IT (Spanish / English)
FastNetMon / FNM Manager: DDoS Detection Tools.
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:08 pm

i didn't try...
i have never done a netinstall. there will be some difference? do you think this problem is due to the way you install ROS?? i don't think so. don't ask me why, i just don't think so :lol:
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24272
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:25 pm

you should try netinstall. it should fix this
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
pospanko
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:23 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:02 pm

I don't think that is the problem. I used net install on rc4 to upgrade router to rc5 or rc6 but it didn't work. Same massage for me too. I send suport file to Mikrotik but nothing is done. I still can't upgrade... I tried lot of times and ways but the resault is the same...
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24272
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:23 am

and DID you try Netinstall or not?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
romaxe
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Buenos Aires

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:54 am

hello

I have same problems too when I install from CD.

Tried netinstall, and installs fine, but later doesnt boot.

Triend to install over HD IDE, HD SATA, CF IDE, USB STICK, and both netinstall and CD.

I bought a computer with a INTEL DG33FB motherboard and a core2duo e6750 and 3 routerboard 44 pci gigabit. I am asking myself now if I should use this computer as a flowerpot?

Acclaration: if I took out an HD o USB stick from this computer and put into another older, works fine. also is not hardware problem, computer works flawlessly.

by now, testing and testing, and waiting for buying licences.

Thanks all for reading..,. Bye.
 
pospanko
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:23 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Thu Oct 18, 2007 3:48 pm

and DID you try Netinstall or not?
Yes, I used all types of install. Full install from ISO and Netinstall, Upgrade from RC4 to RC5 and RC6 but with no success. Same massage all the time...
Loading system with initrd
Uncompressing Linux... Ok, booting the kernel.
ERROR: Could not find disk!
Please attach it somewhere else
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 19, 2007 12:51 am

if maxid and normis say that i have to do a netinstall... a netinstall will be done... i will share results later... bye
 
romaxe
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Buenos Aires

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:46 pm

hello kolorasta, did you get some good news? did you make it work?

Please, share results with us :)
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:36 am

i did't tried yet... it's a MT in production stage... i'll try this week at "siesta" time... when most clients are offline
 
Alligator
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:46 am

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:59 am

netinstall doesnt help for me.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24272
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:03 am

netinstall doesnt help for me.
what is the problem you are having? what is your system, a PC? you need to install ROSv3 with a CD then
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
AIVAS
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 6:37 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:06 am

If your system bios allows it, try ovverriding the Translation used, IE: Instead of auto, try normal/LBA/Large.

One may work for your system. If so, then you may need a bios update as auto looks at the disk to work it out and got it wrong.

i have had this fail regardless though. On that machine I only had LBA enable/disable.

I'd have to agree with normis, as netinstall should sort this out regardless, but at least it's another avenue to try. :)

AIVAS
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:53 pm

i didn't mention before but i have tried changing the hdd config in bios, but no luck
i tried with two different motherboard... oldies, but working ones. no luck too
 
pospanko
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:23 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:38 pm

Some mistake was made in RC5, RC6 and RC7. If I can install RC4 with no problem and it works ok (I use it as a live router on my netowrk because it have a interface routing implemented) then a problem is in new releases. I already sent my support file to Mikrotik when I tried to install RC5 and no changes until then...

Hope the bug will soon be found and that I could use new features and test them.
 
AIVAS
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 6:37 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Wed Oct 24, 2007 3:35 am

Now this is interesting, I installed 4 Compact Flash cards all the same on the same machine (Intel CA810E with CF2IDE adapter), brought them into work for the great keying ceremony, installed into a Intel D815EEA2 with CF2IDE.

However, it isn't as simple as all 4 not working, no, 3 worked, one gave me the "couldn't find disk, attach elsewhere" error.

Translations were same on all disks, If I find out a solution, I'll post here. :) (Thinking something didn't install right...)

AIVAS
EDIT: To correct poor spelling
Last edited by AIVAS on Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
mps01k
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:09 pm
Location: HONDURAS
Contact:

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:15 am

dont think it is a bios update issue . i have tried 2 differnt pc's with same motherboard same bios setting, and one says that cant find disk and other says can. also i have installed with CD on one pc and works another with ftp and works and then on another computer niether cd nor ftp work.. i have not tried netinstall but dont understand how that could affect it. I have even installed on a 512MB usb flash drive i have with CD and boots fine on my laptop under usb boot. so what is the problem?? What do you think Mikrotik?? like the problem above with 4 flashes the same brand ect and 3 work and 1 doesnt. I cant even find the problem consistent . So far i have 6 that work and 3 that dont.

michael
setting up small WISP in Honduras over Satelite connections
 
AIVAS
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 6:37 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:20 am

Hmm... discovered 2.9.48 works ok on the flash that didn't work, upgrading it to 3.0rc7 brings the fault back...

loads the kernel, then can't find the disk, only thing I can think of is maybe the USB boot support in the initrd.gz is stuffing it up somehow for some installs (3 other cards worked fine). Tried the "weird" card on the following, CA810E, Intel D865GLC, Intel D815EEA2. In the D865GLC, disabling the USB controller in the bios didn't help. All intel machines. Maybe that has something to do with it.

Perhaps mikrotik could offer a non-usb boot 3.0rc for testing? I don't have 3.0rc4 which is before USB booting was brought in.

Kinda need 3.0rc7 for the new stuff in it, and seems bgp seems to work better. Most irritating thing is this seems to be on a per harddrive/usb/cf/otherbootthingy basis. Exactly the same hardware with a different card works fine. Might send this weird one with another good one to mikrotik if they want to see if they can nut it out. :)

AIVAS
 
Great Man
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 6:57 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:13 pm

Tried RC5-RC7 on Intel 945GM and AMD 690G chipset. Both doesn't work. Complete CF format (not netinstall) helps but you lost the license.
 
Alligator
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:46 am

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 9:36 am

netinstall doesnt help for me.
what is the problem you are having? what is your system, a PC? you need to install ROSv3 with a CD then
Im getting the "could not find disk" error
Yeah std PC , 1ghz celeron no fancy mobo. Regular IDE disk. 2.9.48 works. Tried v3 rc7 and rc8 with cd and netinstall but no result. I am keeping the key everytime, guess that a complete clean installation would solve the problem but then i will loose the key.

I also tried reset to default conf in 2.9.48 before upgrade, no difference. Also tried the bios settings auto --> normal etc.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24272
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 10:50 am

this is fixed in v3rc9
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:03 pm

excellent news... waiting then.... :D
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:33 pm

it is available already on the web (mean RouterOS 3.0rc9)
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:39 pm

Anyone tried RC9? I'm downloading it at the mo (but very very slow on both the main download server and mirror). Also, how would I recover the license key? Server doen't support net booting and When I plug the CF into a laptop it doesn't show any license info. If I do a fresh install I guess I will loose all the config and have to re-license??
 
tanxw998
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:10 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:21 pm

iI also have the same problem ,I think this is the kernel change beginning RC5
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:44 pm

The problem seems to be fixed... I instaled V3RC9 and everything is OK...

THANKSSSSS now i can start using V3 in my PCs........

ahhh i forgot to say that I upload packages via ftp. I did that kind of upgrade
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:15 pm

why was my post deleted ?
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:23 pm

if someone upgrade, please check your MANGLE, SIMPLE QUEUE, QUEUE TREE and CONNECTIONS...
counters are dead!

i have a TrafficShaper (two lan cards bridged)... traffic of the whole network pass through with no shaping..at full speed ...

in theory, everything should work like in v2.9.x?

---------------------
FIXED

in Bridge/Settings you have to check "Use IP firewall"
this option is new in v3 and it seems to be disabled by default.
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:31 pm

why was my post deleted ?
which post? what did u say?
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:47 pm

ahhh i forgot to say that I upload packages via ftp. I did that kind of upgrade
But how did you recover the license from the failed CF? I can't upload RC9 as the router wont get to that stage :(
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 8:06 pm

ahhh i forgot to say that I upload packages via ftp. I did that kind of upgrade
But how did you recover the license from the failed CF? I can't upload RC9 as the router wont get to that stage :(
I had a licensed ROS 2.9.48 in a hdd (x86). i upload 3.0rc9 packages via ftp, reboot... everything is fine. I didn't loose any license.
 
pospanko
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:23 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 8:55 pm

Yes, it's work fine. I finally can use this great features like layer7...
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 9:14 pm

I had a licensed ROS 2.9.48 in a hdd (x86). i upload 3.0rc9 packages via ftp, reboot... everything is fine. I didn't loose any license.
Not that easy for me as the CF had 2.9.42 which I upgraded to RC5. Tried the CF in 3 other x86 machines but all halt with the "could not find disk!" error. Any ideas how to get RC9 onto this CF and keep the license intact?
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Fri Oct 26, 2007 10:47 pm

I had a licensed ROS 2.9.48 in a hdd (x86). i upload 3.0rc9 packages via ftp, reboot... everything is fine. I didn't loose any license.
Not that easy for me as the CF had 2.9.42 which I upgraded to RC5. Tried the CF in 3 other x86 machines but all halt with the "could not find disk!" error. Any ideas how to get RC9 onto this CF and keep the license intact?
i'm not sure but what do you think about this?

put CF in a PC. boot from cd and install and remember to KEEP your settings...

i think that a CF is recognized like a hdd in a pc, or not?
when I got that error (could not find disk...) y put the v2.9.46 cd and install ROS to the hdd over the failed installation of v3rc6, i choose to keep previous config and everything went back to normality.
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:42 pm

Yep. Downloaded the latest 2.9 ISO and installed. Kept the license. Dragged RC9 into winbox and box booted fine. Need to run a few tests but all looking good ;)
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Mon Oct 29, 2007 3:23 pm

also can try netinstall on CF that failed
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Mon Oct 29, 2007 4:51 pm

also can try netinstall on CF that failed
Started to try that but netinstall didn't show any license info so thought it might wipe the CF. ISO worked fine.
 
User avatar
111111
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:39 am
Location: BG,SOFIA

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:56 pm

Same situation repeats
but after update from ROS 6.29 to 6.31
MB: Supermicro X8SIL-F
Intel® 3420 Chipset
SATA chip: Intel BD3420 PCH

tested all possible instalation metods
In God We Trust. All other must submit X.509 certificate!
 
waynz0r
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:26 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not find disk! Please attach it somewhere else

Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:39 am

I have the same problem with a Supermicro C2758, SoC board.

I tried to upgrade from 6.28.
Looks like some kernel drivers were removed in the 6.30 or 6.31 release.

Can you please someone at Mikrotik look into this?

Best regards,
Zsolt Varga

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 102 guests