Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
xbaha
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:16 pm

load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:29 am

hi,
is it possible to load balance (or share) multiple PPPoE connections, while the ip is dynamic (assigned by the ISP) ?
the ip->route doesnt assign correctly the routing table!
i.e. if i have two connections pppoe1 and pppoe2 connected, the routing table looks like this:
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 pppoe1 (ip of pppoe1)
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 pppoe1 (ip of pppoe1)

where is pppoe2 ??

has anyone successfully done this?
i read the wiki, but it's only if my IP is static.

please let me know, if not is this a near feature in the OS?

thanks.
 
guroth
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:01 pm

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Tue Oct 16, 2007 9:51 pm

if both ppoe connections use the same peer gateway then it wont work, although I hear in 3.0 beta it works.
 
xbaha
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:03 pm

yes, same gateway (and same ISP)...
i tried latest version, didnt work.

any discussions on this on other topics??
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24749
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:20 am

interface based routing should help. if ip of GW is the same, you can create routes based only on outgoing interface. this is in ROSv3
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
xbaha
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:43 am

how do you create a new route to an interface?? this is great feature by the way.
but i tried to do it, the interface field cant be modified???
pls see attached shot

also, may i ask how many pppoe connections i can make?

thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24749
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Thu Oct 18, 2007 12:28 pm

should work like this:
[normis@demo2.mt.lv] > ip route add gateway=
wlan1  wlan2  ether1  ether2  
but that won't help to load-balance. your ISP will give you two IPs of the same range which will cause more problems than benefits. the only realistic solution is having 3 routers.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
shielder
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: Indonesia

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:27 pm

It's better for you to add rb150 after your modem and before your distribution router.
 
xbaha
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Thu Oct 18, 2007 3:21 pm

What if my ISP will give me the same IP for both PPPoE, would that be any help?

i am just woundering, if such a routes can be added as static:
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 pppoe1
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 pppoe2

both same metric, and then, any traffic will be natted on the same IP of the connection, this way, i can load balance the outgoing traffic only (MT should take care of this, does it?), which somehow will load balance the incomming.

i have done similar config in cisco, and it works fine..

thanks.
 
xbaha
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:57 pm

-> It's better for you to add rb150 after your modem and before your distribution router.

What if the PPPoE link on the rb went down, how would the router know that the RB PPPoE went down and stop forwarding traffic through it???
 
shielder
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: Indonesia

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Fri Oct 19, 2007 4:48 am

1. you can create a watchdog to keep watching your ISP gateway, if it's down, reboot the RB150 router
2. set a script on RB150 to automatically disabled ip address of your local ethernet (which is connected to your router) whenever you couldn't ping to ISP gateway. your distribution router would not pass the traffic to an unreacheable RB150.
 
xbaha
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:05 pm

>>2. set a script on RB150 to automatically disabled ip address of your local ethernet (which is connected to your router) whenever you couldn't ping to ISP gateway. your distribution router would not pass the traffic to an unreacheable RB150.

can you help with such a script that disabled eth1 when pppoe connection go down?

thanks;
 
shielder
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: Indonesia

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:18 am

/tool netwatch add host=10.1.1.10 timeout=1s interval=1m up-script=enable down-script=disable

/system script add name="disable" source="/interface disable ether1"

/system script add name="enable" source="/interface enable ether1"

nb. Host is the ip address of your PPPoE gateway
 
xbaha
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:54 am

Hi, thanks for this,
i have a question, this script will run on the distribution router or the RB150 between dsl modem & the router?
i am assuming this is on the distribution router, if yes, then how can the RB150 know that it's PPPoE has dropped?
netwatch watches IP address, i am getting dynamic IP.

Thanks.
 
shielder
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: Indonesia

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:57 pm

the script is for RB150. Script would automatically disable interface which links to your distribution router.

Let's say you have 4 RB150 which local interface (connect to your distribution router) address is :
Router A :192.168.1.1
Router B :192.168.2.1
Router C :192.168.3.1
Router D :192.168.4.1

You need to set check gateway function (in IP route) in your distribution router
If the gateway failed on router A, script on router A would disable it's ethernet (192.168.1.1), so that your distribution router would not pass the traffic to router A.

Hope this could help you.

Regards,
Budiarto
 
Sylbatyo
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 1:48 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:05 pm

interface based routing should help. if ip of GW is the same, you can create routes based only on outgoing interface. this is in ROSv3
Hi!

And what is if I have two different ISP different dynamic IP?

Could I set Load balancing in 2.9.50 or 3.0 rc13 (I use this ver now)?

Thanks:
Szilard
 
User avatar
sandov63
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: Villa del rosario perija zulia, venezuela

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:54 pm

should work like this:

Code:
[normis@demo2.mt.lv] > ip route add gateway=
wlan1 wlan2 ether1 ether2



Normis it doesnt work,, look


[admin@Mult] ip route> add gateway=ether1
invalid value for argument address
Cuando la ignorancia se impone, la razon cordialmente cede el paso.
 
User avatar
Akangage
newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:15 pm

Maybe thiz one can help you... thiz iz my config

Image
 
User avatar
Akangage
newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:47 am

You can try 1st then you can get the conclusion
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8488
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:56 pm

[admin@Mult] ip route> add gateway=ether1
invalid value for argument address
ROS v3? p.s. maybe, add 'address' argument? :)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bucky2780, Google [Bot] and 76 guests