Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Fran66
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 8:10 pm
Location: Panama
Contact:

LCD Package

Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:11 pm

Hello, I want to know when is lcd package going to be out on v3.0rcXX cause i am doing a custom built with lcd (portwell serial lcd), and using a unsupported quad intel giga Ethernet network card on ver 2.9xx so I cant go back.

thanks,
Fran
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: LCD Package

Mon Oct 29, 2007 11:37 am

is it not in the all-packages ZIP file?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LCD Package

Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:15 am

Just building another Portwell based router on a NAR-5060.
The display has vanished from the 3.10 LCD "type" selection. (There used to be a mtb-134 setting or so for the Portwell EZIO modules).

Can anybody from MikroTik comment on this or has someone else managed to get a EZIO from Portwell running under 3.x?
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
htdbnbj
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 10:42 am
Location: Durban, South Africa
Contact:

Re: LCD Package

Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:09 am

Yes we have been using the LCD package successfully on the Portwell EZIO Display. I am not sure if we have used the LCD package specifically @ V3.10 but will check if you want, let me know.
It is available for V3.10, V3.11, and V3.13 as we have downloaded at the time the release came out. V3.12 was not around very long so did not get around to downloading that one.
We use the Torrent download so don't know if that is the difference?
Hi-Technology (KZN) (Pty) Ltd. South Africa
 
User avatar
vsaldarriaga
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:48 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: LCD Package

Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:33 pm

We have been working with nexcom appliances (http://www.nexcom.com/ProductModel.aspx ... 5119b876d6) for a while now,
but have never been able to get the PIO LCD displays to work. The guys at nexcom have provided us with sample code and the sources for the kernel module. Would it be possible to include that character suppor on the 3beta?
 
User avatar
vsaldarriaga
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:48 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: LCD Package

Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:30 pm

In the zip file attached are the specs for the display and sample code.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8326
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: LCD Package

Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:36 pm

please write to support@mikrotik.com
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: LCD Package

Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:54 pm

I have been tinkering with different LCD / VFD options off and on for quite a while..

I have noticed that many PIO displays use different signal lines from the LPT port to act as strobe and RW lines..

So what you run into is different valus needing to be set in the LPT controle registers to accomplish the same task.

The result is garbled displays or displays that simply do not initalize..

If you can obtain the pin out that the MFG is using to control the LCD, you could create a "patch board" that corrected the pinout that MikroTik is expecting.. Most of the platform mfgs use the LPT port to drive PIO LCDs usualy the pins are all available, just the pinouts are incorrect (affecting control register programming) by installing a small interconnect adapter, you can tap into the signal path from the system board to the LCD, correct the pinout and connect the LCD to the adapter rather than the system board...

Just an idea..
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
sdrenner
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:03 pm
Contact:

Re: LCD Package

Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:51 pm

What all can be seen via the LCD?
 
sdrenner
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:03 pm
Contact:

Re: LCD Package

Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:33 pm

What do the settings need to be set to for portwells?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: LCD Package

Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:29 am

you don't have to set anything, just enable it:
http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/2.9/system/lcd.php
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
sdrenner
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:03 pm
Contact:

Re: LCD Package

Tue Nov 04, 2008 6:01 pm

Thanks, I got it working before you replied.
However are the arrows and enter or esc. buttons supposed to work?
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Re: LCD Package

Tue Nov 04, 2008 6:10 pm

No - unfortunately not. It's just displaying the configured information...
Best regards,
Christian Meis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], jebz and 137 guests