Page 1 of 1

LCD Package

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:11 pm
by Fran66
Hello, I want to know when is lcd package going to be out on v3.0rcXX cause i am doing a custom built with lcd (portwell serial lcd), and using a unsupported quad intel giga Ethernet network card on ver 2.9xx so I cant go back.

thanks,
Fran

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 11:37 am
by normis
is it not in the all-packages ZIP file?

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:15 am
by cmit
Just building another Portwell based router on a NAR-5060.
The display has vanished from the 3.10 LCD "type" selection. (There used to be a mtb-134 setting or so for the Portwell EZIO modules).

Can anybody from MikroTik comment on this or has someone else managed to get a EZIO from Portwell running under 3.x?

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:09 am
by htdbnbj
Yes we have been using the LCD package successfully on the Portwell EZIO Display. I am not sure if we have used the LCD package specifically @ V3.10 but will check if you want, let me know.
It is available for V3.10, V3.11, and V3.13 as we have downloaded at the time the release came out. V3.12 was not around very long so did not get around to downloading that one.
We use the Torrent download so don't know if that is the difference?

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:33 pm
by vsaldarriaga
We have been working with nexcom appliances (http://www.nexcom.com/ProductModel.aspx ... 5119b876d6) for a while now,
but have never been able to get the PIO LCD displays to work. The guys at nexcom have provided us with sample code and the sources for the kernel module. Would it be possible to include that character suppor on the 3beta?

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:30 pm
by vsaldarriaga
In the zip file attached are the specs for the display and sample code.

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:36 pm
by Chupaka
please write to support@mikrotik.com

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:54 pm
by csickles
I have been tinkering with different LCD / VFD options off and on for quite a while..

I have noticed that many PIO displays use different signal lines from the LPT port to act as strobe and RW lines..

So what you run into is different valus needing to be set in the LPT controle registers to accomplish the same task.

The result is garbled displays or displays that simply do not initalize..

If you can obtain the pin out that the MFG is using to control the LCD, you could create a "patch board" that corrected the pinout that MikroTik is expecting.. Most of the platform mfgs use the LPT port to drive PIO LCDs usualy the pins are all available, just the pinouts are incorrect (affecting control register programming) by installing a small interconnect adapter, you can tap into the signal path from the system board to the LCD, correct the pinout and connect the LCD to the adapter rather than the system board...

Just an idea..

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:51 pm
by sdrenner
What all can be seen via the LCD?

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:33 pm
by sdrenner
What do the settings need to be set to for portwells?

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:29 am
by normis
you don't have to set anything, just enable it:
http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/2.9/system/lcd.php

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 6:01 pm
by sdrenner
Thanks, I got it working before you replied.
However are the arrows and enter or esc. buttons supposed to work?

Re: LCD Package

Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 6:10 pm
by cmit
No - unfortunately not. It's just displaying the configured information...