Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
hcrntp
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:12 am

NTP Server with Garmin 17n GPS Reciever

Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:26 am

I am trying to create two GPS locked NTP servers for use in our enterprise. When I use Motorola's Oncore Software, I get a 3 satellite valid NMEA signal and it presents valid time. However when I plug the sensor into the MT box, I get no valid time ... I am at a loss.. I have spent over 500 plus the two pc's ... and I have got nothing back from MT support on details of how many satellites does a sensor have to have to see a valid time according to their software.

Any help would be appreciated... I am confused why it doesn't work.
 
Bill
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:24 pm
Location: Nevada

Wed Feb 02, 2005 10:03 am

How are you trying to get the time signal from the GPS unit into the MT box? Does MT actually support what you are trying to do? If you are able to get the time from the GPS receiver using the Motorola software, then I would say it is a communication problem between the units and not an issue of how many satellites are being tracked.

As I understand it, to use a MT box as a time server, you need to use the NTP client to get the accurate time and then use the NTP server to share the time with your network. I pull the signal from the time.nist.gov IP address. I have setup my MT box to act as a time server, but it is easier and simpler to have everyone use the same public site.
 
GJS
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: London

Thu Feb 03, 2005 4:47 am

I assume you are connecting to the MT box with an RS232 serial connection. There are a few things to set up on the MT, described here.

http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.8/system/gps.content

the GPS device needs to output Simple Text Output Protocol so check that it supports and is set to that. You also need to enable GPS support, the serial port number, and use of the GPS to set the clock on the MT.

Hope that helps.
Guy

wispuk.org
A Forum Community for UK WISPs
 
hcrntp
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:12 am

SOLUTION; = GPS for Mikrotik is 4800 baud SERIAL

Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:21 pm

I now have 2 fully functional Stratum1 Time Servers for under $500!...

Serial is defualting to 9600
GPS interface on Mikrotik is 4800 only...

Made change and Had immediate success!....

No ISP should operate without this... it provides the most accuarte source of time, and your not relying on your Internet connection for timing.

Thanks MT Support and Forum

Craig Hulbert
Sr Security Analyst
HCR ManorCare




Hello,

Could you send us the support output file from your router?
Also have you checked what port setting should be used for you current GPS device, because the routers default baud rate is 9600. And I think that the GPS use 4800 baud rate. The port settings can be changed in the 'port' menu.

Sincerely,
Uldis
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Thu Feb 03, 2005 10:44 pm

This is something I am working on setting up this week as well. I have a USB receiver though and assuming it will not work unless I can trick MT into thinking the USB is a serial port. Or use a converter, if one exists.

Sam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jatzoo, normis and 140 guests