Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
omar_1966
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 7:00 pm

dhcp and ip problem

Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:28 pm

I HAVE ABOUT 25 USERS IN MY WIRELESS NETWORK AND I HAVE THIS PROBLEM, I HAVE MY ROUTERS DHCP ENABLE, USERS TAKE DYNAMIC IPS FROM MY ROUTER BUT, SOMETIMES THEY EXPERIMENT AND PUT A ROUTER WITH DHCP ANABLE OR PUT STATIC IPS IN THE LAN CARDS AND USE IPS ALL READY USED AND MAKE MY NETWORK CHRASH.
IS THERE ANY THING THAT I CAN DO TO PREVENT THIS?
I AM USING A RB133 FOR MY WIRELESS NETWORK
THANK YOU
 
jonashi
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:19 am
Location: Europe

Re: dhcp and ip problem

Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:01 pm

yes, there are many of methods how to avoid this. For example:
authehtificate users. You can use Mikrotik hotspot facility for that small network.
You can bond IP address with MAC address so there no bussines when this pair doesnt match...(until your client is as smart as is able to change MAC address)
Interesting parts lying around IP->arp
There are incredible abilities in the RouterOS. But - How your system works depends on you. RouterOS is like LEGO.
You can build anything you can imagine, but you have to study ROS the manual

I would recommend you use hotspot. It works with any clients setup of IPs- all parameters are given upon user name and password, no matter what IP is your "hackig" client trying to set at his side-works on lower level of ISO/OSI model - quickiest solution.

cheers

Patrik
 
User avatar
t3rm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:57 pm
Location: Bandung - WJ - Indonesia

Re: dhcp and ip problem

Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:56 am

I use PPPoE to avoid this kind of problem for my bad and naughty users.
But to be honest i have tried PPPoE over Wireless and it didnt work.

Once i solved how to make it work on Wireless, then this could be the best solution for this case

8)
 
User avatar
jorj
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: /dev/null

Re: dhcp and ip problem

Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:27 pm

T3rm, what exactly was your problem with pppoe over wireless ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: benc1337, eworm, ZacharyBeade and 144 guests