Community discussions

 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Routerboard with ADSL interface

Wed Nov 28, 2007 2:48 am

Hey guys. Anyone know if there is a chance to see coming a Routerboard with an integrated ADSL interface???
It would be great. Until know i have made bridge the DSL modems and used Mikrotik for routing the LANs but it would be nice to have a product that does it all...
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with ADSL interface

Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:35 am

As far as I know, there are not.
So, currently used setup is the best way to achieve, what you want.
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: Routerboard with ADSL interface

Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:20 am

I think it should stay the way it is. As soon as you start integrating DSL and other connections onto the board, it starts to resemble a home router and I don't think that is what Mikrotik wants.

It's great as it is, you then plug whatever you need into the ethernet ports, DSL, diginet, T1, iBurst, 3G whatever.

Also consider the redundancy issues. If you have a lightning strike, it's normally the DSL modem that is zapped and you don't want the router going south. A DSL modem in South Africa costs a couple of hundred Rand, about $80 so it's not worth compromising the router with integrated stuff.

But hey, that's just my ten cents worth.

YMMV
Regards
Hilton
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with ADSL interface

Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:47 pm

With the low cost RB150 that is a SOHO router i think Routerboard wants to impact these type of clients.
Here in Albania, ADSL is widely used by the ISP and would be great to introduce the RB150 (if it had a ADSL interface) :):)
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
Scralatchtica
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:37 pm

Re: Routerboard with ADSL interface

Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:06 pm

would it be possible to use this card made by sangoma?

http://www.sangoma.com/datasheets/p_s518adsl-specs
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with ADSL interface

Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:39 am

Supported interfaces are listed here,
http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/2. ... ent.php#.6
 
User avatar
eugenevdm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:23 pm
Location: Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with ADSL interface

Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:45 pm

I would like to revive this topic.

Whenever we ship our clients a MikroTik hotspot solution, we have to ship two devices:

1. A RouterBOARD.
2. An ADSL modem

I really think that in 2011 it's worth considering ADSL interface on RouterBOARDs. Already you have USB ports for 3G failover. Why no ADSL?
The Snowball Effect
Superior Internet Solutions
 
carl0s
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:18 pm

Re: Routerboard with ADSL interface

Tue Jan 10, 2012 1:44 am

I agree. It's a pain.
I will need to find a half-bridge, or 1:1 NAT capable router in order to use a routerBOARD for a customer I have in mind.
+1 for xDSL interface modules, or integrated routers.
 
User avatar
nest
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:52 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Routerboard with ADSL interface

Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:07 am

try these - they do the PPPoA ADSL modem part, but out of the box, with no other config, you set the Mikrotik pppoe-client to authenticate the customer. So even if the ISP is PPPoA, the modem converts the PPPoE to PPPoA and back again. No NAT, no 'half bridge tricks', just a modem :-) So if it gets damaged by lightning, you throw it in the rubbish and plug in a new one. No config. Even customer can do this. Easy. All config is in your RB. :-) We use these because in Guernsey there is only one ISP (C&W) and they do not support PPPoE on their ADSL, only PPPoA. In UK, ISP supports both. But with these modems, we don't care.

http://www.draytek.co.uk/products/vigor120.html
Ron Touw - Mikrotik Certified Trainer
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/category/166
Largest Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4), 6.irc.z.je (IPv6)
 
elektromonter
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Routerboard with ADSL interface

Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:59 am

The best way will be to plug an adsl usb modem (there is plenty of it)

Image
If I help you - Give me Karma

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 113 guests