Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
pdf
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:56 pm

RB333 and ros 2.9

Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:52 am

Dear Mikrotik,

reading all the comments in the forum about ros3 and accordingly to our experience, I would suggest you to implement ros 2.9 on RB333 (and newer hardware such as RB600). At the moment the ros3 is unusable on (accordingly to our experience):

- wireless is not working, very unstable
- OSPF is not working as expected, sometimes the routing tables are not updated correctly
- PPPoE does not work at all (we opened a ticket in rc10, partially solved in rc11 but it looks like the problem was not totally solved)

Considering that we use mainly these 3 features, it would be helpful if you implement quickly a 2.9 version in order to use RB333/RB600 otherwise I guess almost everybody will try to find some hardware where to run ros 2.9.

Thank you.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24824
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB333 and ros 2.9

Mon Dec 03, 2007 8:49 am

The problems you mention are very specific, and if you read other posts, you will see that most people have no problems with what you wrote. We are working hard to fix those things, but is simply technically impossible to add RB333 support in 2.9. If we would do this, 2.9 would become equal to 3.0
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
medube
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 2:50 pm

Re: RB333 and ros 2.9

Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:03 pm

- wireless is not working, very unstable
- OSPF is not working as expected, sometimes the routing tables are not updated correctly
- PPPoE does not work at all (we opened a ticket in rc10, partially solved in rc11 but it looks like the problem was not totally solved)
Wireless is working with us, but unstable in a sense. I posted in other topic that if I try to change a setting on one wireless interface running as an AP, the other wireless interfaces running as APs disconnect their clients and reconnect them.

PPPoE works just great and didnt give us any stress even after upgrading from 2.9.42 to 3RC10.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lixxdee, ramirez, sindy and 191 guests