Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
complete2006
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 7:18 pm

RB333 reboots very often

Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:26 pm

RB333 with RC11 (and RC10) is rebooting very often. (1h, 6h or other uptime). Only watchdog and the reboot is keeping the device available. It is no power issue (Checked this). Has anyone the same problem? I have 20pcs of RB333 on stock and I can't put them into production with this issue.
 
mstead
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:41 am

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:03 am

I can second this. Seen a lot of 333 reboot issues. Some help is gained by using the reset-configuration command in terminal mode. This got rid of reboots every few minutes and now its measurable in hours.

Malcolm
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24604
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:12 am

you should make supout.rif file after one such reboot and send to support. we will see what caused it.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
complete2006
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:40 am

Sent all files to you. Hope you will find the issue quick ...
 
ropebih
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:35 pm

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:27 am

any solution for this problem. My RB333 is reboting every 10 minutes!!!
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Fri Dec 21, 2007 10:17 am

any solution for this problem. My RB333 is reboting every 10 minutes!!!
Check if you have an autosupout.rif file generated in the files directory. If yes, you can send it to support@mikrotik.com
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1734
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:44 am

There are only 2 possible reasons for that:

1) insufficient power - are you using XRs or all 3 SRs?? Then you should find more powerfull power adapter, or go for RB600

2) Software crash - in this case guys from MT will be able to see it in the (auto)supout.rif file
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
ropebih
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:35 pm

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Fri Dec 21, 2007 12:10 pm

There are only 2 possible reasons for that:

1) insufficient power - are you using XRs or all 3 SRs?? Then you should find more powerfull power adapter, or go for RB600

2) Software crash - in this case guys from MT will be able to see it in the (auto)supout.rif file
Just two CM9.
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:06 am

If have a brand new RB333 with one bad mpci.
When I put a card into the furthest slot the ros fails to boot.
To eliminate this try swapping the cards around to test this possibility.
 
User avatar
ghmorris
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:14 pm
Location: Minden, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Sat Dec 22, 2007 2:57 am

We're running a couple of 20-ish KM links with 333s. Turbo 5.x, with only a single Ubiquiti XR5 in each 333 in the inner-most slot.

Been working great so far. Nstreme+polling+compression+ANI+framer bestfit 4000. About 75Mbits UDP in each direction, a little more than that total in both directions at the same time.

Completely stable using rc13 with heavy loads.

24v PacWireless POE injectors with about 70m of 24g Ethernet cable.

Its really cool to have a little bit of processor capability in reserve finally. It feels like we've been waiting a long time for this.... And our first RB600 is on its way too. :D

George
 
Gerard
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Kentucky, USA
Contact:

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Sat Dec 22, 2007 6:10 am

I upgraded all of my RB333's(about 20 of them) to rc13 earlier this week. I had 30+ day uptimes on most and 60+ days on two.

Almost all of my 333's have 2 XR cards running on a pac 18volt poe.

I have another pair of RB333's on a ptp link that has been running a speed test for the past 4 days with an 18mbit full duplex avg.. No packet loss with 10ms avg/79ms max ping..

I also have a RB600 stress testing right now. I have ~900 simple queues created, doing NAT for ~450 clients, pushing 10-15mbit avg. CPU is 67% for the past 24hours.. I'm very impressed with the RB600 so far.. I just wish they used different mini pci slots so I could use more than 2 XR cards in it..

-Gerard
Certified Mikrotik Trainer
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Sat Dec 22, 2007 4:01 pm

Do not get me wrong...
my post was only to indicate that something could be wrong with that specific card of his.

The board I have issue with, I only need 2 Mpci slots, so I am not concerned.
Other wise the 333s work fabulous.

I am looking forward to receiving my 600s.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:17 pm

Do not get me wrong...
my post was only to indicate that something could be wrong with that specific card of his.

The board I have issue with, I only need 2 Mpci slots, so I am not concerned.
Other wise the 333s work fabulous.

I am looking forward to receiving my 600s.
What specific card are you using?
Is this card working in other RB333 or other RouterBoards?
 
mstead
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:41 am

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:01 am

There are only 2 possible reasons for that:

1) insufficient power - are you using XRs or all 3 SRs?? Then you should find more powerfull power adapter, or go for RB600

2) Software crash - in this case guys from MT will be able to see it in the (auto)supout.rif file

Can I add number 3 to the list...

3) Faulty hardware - either poor design on MT's part or badly manufactured board.

Personally I think there may be an issue with one or two badly made boards.
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:49 am

I have tryed in the defective slot: senao 8602, xr2, xr5, r52, r52h.
And the card works great when transfered to either of the othe 2 slots: j502 and j503.
The rb333 does not bootwhen a card is inserted into j501.
When slot marked j501 is vacant, all is good.

This only happens on one board, of which, I am not concerned, as I do not need this slot, on that particular router.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:18 am

I have tryed in the defective slot: senao 8602, xr2, xr5, r52, r52h.
And the card works great when transfered to either of the othe 2 slots: j502 and j503.
The rb333 does not bootwhen a card is inserted into j501.
When slot marked j501 is vacant, all is good.

This only happens on one board, of which, I am not concerned, as I do not need this slot, on that particular router.
Then please contact the reseller or distributor where you brought this RB333 and give it to RMA.
 
jonbrewer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 5:56 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:17 am

I can second this. Seen a lot of 333 reboot issues. Some help is gained by using the reset-configuration command in terminal mode. This got rid of reboots every few minutes and now its measurable in hours.
How are we doing on this? I have an unresolved ticket from November on this same issue. I have had no word as to whether it is a software bug or hardware.
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:56 pm

Jonbrewer,

I would suggest you try a netinstall of the latest Ros V3.
Then go through the motions of setting up your router manually.

See if this helps.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CZFan, eworm and 65 guests