Page 1 of 1

RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:26 pm
by complete2006
RB333 with RC11 (and RC10) is rebooting very often. (1h, 6h or other uptime). Only watchdog and the reboot is keeping the device available. It is no power issue (Checked this). Has anyone the same problem? I have 20pcs of RB333 on stock and I can't put them into production with this issue.

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:03 am
by mstead
I can second this. Seen a lot of 333 reboot issues. Some help is gained by using the reset-configuration command in terminal mode. This got rid of reboots every few minutes and now its measurable in hours.

Malcolm

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:12 am
by normis
you should make supout.rif file after one such reboot and send to support. we will see what caused it.

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:40 am
by complete2006
Sent all files to you. Hope you will find the issue quick ...

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:27 am
by ropebih
any solution for this problem. My RB333 is reboting every 10 minutes!!!

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 10:17 am
by uldis
any solution for this problem. My RB333 is reboting every 10 minutes!!!
Check if you have an autosupout.rif file generated in the files directory. If yes, you can send it to support@mikrotik.com

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:44 am
by macgaiver
There are only 2 possible reasons for that:

1) insufficient power - are you using XRs or all 3 SRs?? Then you should find more powerfull power adapter, or go for RB600

2) Software crash - in this case guys from MT will be able to see it in the (auto)supout.rif file

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 12:10 pm
by ropebih
There are only 2 possible reasons for that:

1) insufficient power - are you using XRs or all 3 SRs?? Then you should find more powerfull power adapter, or go for RB600

2) Software crash - in this case guys from MT will be able to see it in the (auto)supout.rif file
Just two CM9.

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:06 am
by tgrand
If have a brand new RB333 with one bad mpci.
When I put a card into the furthest slot the ros fails to boot.
To eliminate this try swapping the cards around to test this possibility.

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 2:57 am
by ghmorris
We're running a couple of 20-ish KM links with 333s. Turbo 5.x, with only a single Ubiquiti XR5 in each 333 in the inner-most slot.

Been working great so far. Nstreme+polling+compression+ANI+framer bestfit 4000. About 75Mbits UDP in each direction, a little more than that total in both directions at the same time.

Completely stable using rc13 with heavy loads.

24v PacWireless POE injectors with about 70m of 24g Ethernet cable.

Its really cool to have a little bit of processor capability in reserve finally. It feels like we've been waiting a long time for this.... And our first RB600 is on its way too. :D

George

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 6:10 am
by Gerard
I upgraded all of my RB333's(about 20 of them) to rc13 earlier this week. I had 30+ day uptimes on most and 60+ days on two.

Almost all of my 333's have 2 XR cards running on a pac 18volt poe.

I have another pair of RB333's on a ptp link that has been running a speed test for the past 4 days with an 18mbit full duplex avg.. No packet loss with 10ms avg/79ms max ping..

I also have a RB600 stress testing right now. I have ~900 simple queues created, doing NAT for ~450 clients, pushing 10-15mbit avg. CPU is 67% for the past 24hours.. I'm very impressed with the RB600 so far.. I just wish they used different mini pci slots so I could use more than 2 XR cards in it..

-Gerard

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 4:01 pm
by tgrand
Do not get me wrong...
my post was only to indicate that something could be wrong with that specific card of his.

The board I have issue with, I only need 2 Mpci slots, so I am not concerned.
Other wise the 333s work fabulous.

I am looking forward to receiving my 600s.

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:17 pm
by uldis
Do not get me wrong...
my post was only to indicate that something could be wrong with that specific card of his.

The board I have issue with, I only need 2 Mpci slots, so I am not concerned.
Other wise the 333s work fabulous.

I am looking forward to receiving my 600s.
What specific card are you using?
Is this card working in other RB333 or other RouterBoards?

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:01 am
by mstead
There are only 2 possible reasons for that:

1) insufficient power - are you using XRs or all 3 SRs?? Then you should find more powerfull power adapter, or go for RB600

2) Software crash - in this case guys from MT will be able to see it in the (auto)supout.rif file

Can I add number 3 to the list...

3) Faulty hardware - either poor design on MT's part or badly manufactured board.

Personally I think there may be an issue with one or two badly made boards.

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:49 am
by tgrand
I have tryed in the defective slot: senao 8602, xr2, xr5, r52, r52h.
And the card works great when transfered to either of the othe 2 slots: j502 and j503.
The rb333 does not bootwhen a card is inserted into j501.
When slot marked j501 is vacant, all is good.

This only happens on one board, of which, I am not concerned, as I do not need this slot, on that particular router.

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:18 am
by uldis
I have tryed in the defective slot: senao 8602, xr2, xr5, r52, r52h.
And the card works great when transfered to either of the othe 2 slots: j502 and j503.
The rb333 does not bootwhen a card is inserted into j501.
When slot marked j501 is vacant, all is good.

This only happens on one board, of which, I am not concerned, as I do not need this slot, on that particular router.
Then please contact the reseller or distributor where you brought this RB333 and give it to RMA.

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:17 am
by jonbrewer
I can second this. Seen a lot of 333 reboot issues. Some help is gained by using the reset-configuration command in terminal mode. This got rid of reboots every few minutes and now its measurable in hours.
How are we doing on this? I have an unresolved ticket from November on this same issue. I have had no word as to whether it is a software bug or hardware.

Re: RB333 reboots very often

Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:56 pm
by tgrand
Jonbrewer,

I would suggest you try a netinstall of the latest Ros V3.
Then go through the motions of setting up your router manually.

See if this helps.