Page 1 of 1

Router keeps crashing - Kernel Panic

Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 2:08 am
by brianlewis
New install Mikrotik 2.8.23
Tested on 3 different systems!! Literally moved the hard drive from computer to computer, does the same on all three
Two Network cards (3Com 3c509 for both and also had one 3c509 and one RealTek 8139)
Both cards hooked to the same switch
1 Card has routeable IP to internet, other card is used for BRIDGE TRAFFIC
EoIP bridge enabled over Internet, no vpn/tunnel
ether 1 : IRQ 10
ether 2 : IRQ 11
Video : IRQ 5

Screen Shot of Kernel Panic, happens every 2-3 hours!!

Image

Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 9:18 am
by normis
make a supout.rif file fro mthe same router after you reboot it. then send the file + the letest picture to support@mikrotik.com

Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:51 pm
by rz8168
I have same problem! Two of our router just crashed after upgrading to 2.8.23. It happened while I'm working on firewall rules especially mangle rules then it caused kernel panic.

Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 1:02 am
by brianlewis
Well I downgraded to 2.8.19 which is the oldest version available from Mikrotik and it STILL CRASHES!!! This isn't fun. Its a kernel panic and doesn't seem to be hard drive related. This is the only think I haven't swapped out is the hard drive itself.

Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 4:06 am
by rz8168
I downgraded it to .19 as well to see if problem exists.... and yes it still exists. Right now, I'll stop managing firewall rules at this point now until a fix comes out.

Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:06 am
by mip
We had this problem in next cases:
- ospf config under 2.7.x
- wireless mode (2.4-5G) change "on the fly" , when int is enebled (2.8.x)
- bad pci card (that causes hw resource conflict, but resumed at boot) (2.8.x)

So thats all I can help.

edit:
- And one more time: 2.5.x did it once or twice a week with 4 pci ethernet cards.

Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:24 am
by brianlewis
Well I did a fresh install today of 2.8.24, it just crashed so that version doesn't fix the Kernel Panic issue I have. I know its not an irq issue since I made sure neither of the network cards or the video card are sharing an IRQ. The harddrive has been swapped to three different computers with different network cards so its not that either. Mikrotik support never emailed me back after I sent them the kernel panic. Lovely.

Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:24 pm
by Eko Budhi Harsono
Dear All.

I have the same problem before.. already change to another 4 computer and still crashing...

Here is solution you can try :
1. Don't mix 3com & Realtek NIC ( I use 2 com & 1 realtek before ), realtek is onboard lan.
2. Try to change motherboard to intel ( I'm using Asus motherboard before).

my problem gone after change all nic to 3com and change motherboard from asus to Intel.

Let me know if problem still exist..

Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 7:09 pm
by brianlewis
Yesterday I swapped out the 3com 3c905 pci for an intel 82559 pci, since then it hasn't crashed yet!!!
2.8.24

So it seems possibly the 3com drivers have an issue if mixed with another driver or used in a tunnel setup

Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 7:12 pm
by brianlewis
You know what guys, one other thing I did that might have corrected this issue for me!

I was using this unit as a 'tunnel router' to send ethernet over ip between and old location and new location. I had both network cards hooked to the same switch, one for the ip connectivity, one to watch the lan traffic as a bridge. This setup might have caused the issue because when I swapped the 3com for an Intel, I also plugged the new Intel card directly into a dedicated FastEthernet port on the Cisco router, setup a small subnet on that router to access the internet, and then setup the Mikrotik to use that interface for the IP connectivity and use the onboard Realtek interface as the bridge card. Thus possibly there is an issue when you have both connected to the same switch or on the same lan somehow in a EoIP Tunnel setup.

Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 8:11 pm
by Eko Budhi Harsono
I use 3 3com905, 1 for public, 1 for local, 1 for hotspot. I put local and hotspot on the same switch.. everything is running fine.. except some of my local user get hotspot login page sometimes.. ;P

Thanks for sharing your problem...

2 brianlewis

Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 3:10 pm
by Eugene
You are trying to bridge EoIP tunnel with the Ethernet interface the tunnel is running through. This will not work.

Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 5:45 pm
by brianlewis
Eugene, maybe you didn't read it correct


Same Switch (24 port)
1 NIC - Onboard Realtek - Public IP ADDRESS
1 NIC - PCI 3COM 3c905 - Private IP
1 EoIP Tunnel
1 EoIP Bridge
The 3COM + EoIP are BRIDGE1

This caused instability.

I changed it
1 NIC - Onboard RealTek - Public IP Address - Plugged into dedicated FE port on Cisco Router, isolated from 'lan'
1 NIC - Intel 82559 - Private IP
1 EoIP Tunnel
1 EoIP Bridge
The 3COM + EoIP are BRIDGE1

Now the 2.8.24 is stable!!! Basically if both public up card and bridge card are plugged into the same switch or network it seemed to cause instability for me, or it was the 3Com driver (tried multiple cards so it wasn't a bad card)

Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 5:57 pm
by Eugene
It's from your supout file:
/ interface bridge port 
set eoip-remote bridge=bridge1 priority=128 path-cost=10 
set ether3 bridge=none priority=128 path-cost=10 
set ether2 bridge=bridge1 priority=128 path-cost=10
3  S ;;; added by setup
      dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 preferred-source=0.0.0.0 gateway=198.92.120.129 
      gateway-state=reachable distance=1 interface=bridge1
/ interface eoip 
add name="eoip-remote" mtu=1500 mac-address=FE:FD:00:00:00:00 arp=enabled  remote-address=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx tunnel-id=0 disabled=no
Apparently, you have default route via bridge, therefore eoip tunnel itself is going through the bridge, too.