Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
Hammy
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 759
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: DeKalb, IL
Contact:

BGP and OSPF

Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:57 pm

So is it the general consensus that Mikrotik finally has BGP and OSPF working well enough to use? I've heard that OSPF has been good for a while, but BGP's completely uselessness killed it. However, I also heard recently that BGP in 2.9.48 was working well and that 3.0 had a complete rewrite and was going to have more features.
-----
Mike Hammett

The Brothers WISP
 
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Re: BGP and OSPF

Sun Dec 23, 2007 2:00 am

I suspect that BGP in 2.9.50 (on x86) still has some memory issues. Basically what i think is happening is that the bgp process eats more memory as the bgp links are broken and reconnected.
I mean, it works, it just might need a reset every now and again.
Move along. Nothing to see here.
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1837
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: BGP and OSPF

Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:52 pm

Hi,

I've a 2.9.45 system running BGP/OSPF for 132 days
now without a single problem. BGP Sessions are
52days up.

Uses 220MB Memory with full Internetroutingtable and 2 iBGP
peers now.

System is vmware Server on a P4 2,8GHz using VLAN.

So I feel pretty good with this solution.

It's a matter of using a working Release and not change it then.

Stefan
 
bokili
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 8:52 pm

Re: BGP and OSPF

Mon Dec 24, 2007 8:40 pm


I've a 2.9.45 system running BGP/OSPF for 132 days
now without a single problem. BGP Sessions are
52days up.
I think that success is in 2.9.45 as we tested it with 2.9.50 and it keep crashing as it use all RAM memory available for 3 days and after every 3 days and few hours it crashes, so we are using Cisco for now.

If somebody can provide link for 2.9.45 it will be excellent. I asked Mikrotik and there is no reply for days. It seems that they won't give this 2.9.45 version.

I have 2.9.44 somewhere on my hdd, so "ste" do you have good results with 2.9.44 ?????

Also, "ste" how much you have of RAM memory installed and if your CPU is Dual Core?
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1837
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: BGP and OSPF

Mon Dec 24, 2007 11:27 pm


I've a 2.9.45 system running BGP/OSPF for 132 days
now without a single problem. BGP Sessions are
52days up.
I think that success is in 2.9.45 as we tested it with 2.9.50 and it keep crashing as it use all RAM memory available for 3 days and after every 3 days and few hours it crashes, so we are using Cisco for now.

If somebody can provide link for 2.9.45 it will be excellent. I asked Mikrotik and there is no reply for days. It seems that they won't give this 2.9.45 version.

I have 2.9.44 somewhere on my hdd, so "ste" do you have good results with 2.9.44 ?????

Also, "ste" how much you have of RAM memory installed and if your CPU is Dual Core?
No. Do not use 2.9.44 for BGP. I've at least 256MB installed. No I've no Dual Core.
Via Epia and normal P4.

Stefan
 
Gerard
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Kentucky, USA
Contact:

Re: BGP and OSPF

Tue Dec 25, 2007 7:45 am

bokili,

I have a mikrotik archive at http://www.shelbywireless.com/files/mikrotik/

-Gerard
Certified Mikrotik Trainer
 
bokili
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 8:52 pm

Re: BGP and OSPF

Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:57 am

"Ste", Possible that we had problem as we used 2GB Ram which 2.9.X doesn't support and maximum working period was 3 days. We will test it soon with 512MB. I asked support and they told that more than 1GB will not be a problem as mikrotik "will use only what is needed" but you never know.

"Gerard" THANK YOU VERY MUCH for link to your archive :)
 
bokili
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 8:52 pm

Re: BGP and OSPF

Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:58 am

The problem was intel 945 chipset not supported in 2.9.X fully...

Upgrading to v3 fixed problem.
 
CarulloS
Member
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:52 am

Re: BGP and OSPF

Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:38 am

So now that v3.0 is available has anyone tested and found that this version is stable with BGP / OSPF or both?

I use OSPF on v3 by itself and it seems happy. I would like to move to a MT box that can run BGP and OSPF at the same time with two BGP peers with full tables each. Could I expect success or a supout.rif sent to support?

Thanks,
Scott
 
believewireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:30 pm

Re: BGP and OSPF

Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:46 am

We have OSPF and BGP running V3.0 on a router and it's doing fine with full routes. Memory seems stable as well. No BGP resets so far. (4d 19h)
 
bokili
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 8:52 pm

Re: BGP and OSPF

Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:21 pm

BGP is very stable on v3 final.

Well done mikrotik.
 
User avatar
mojiro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:21 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: BGP and OSPF

Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:42 pm

Because of the several problems (that differ by mikrotik version...) with BGP,
I forward the traffic of all interfaces via vlans to a linux box with Quagga BGP.
Deep to cloud!
 
bokili
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 8:52 pm

Re: BGP and OSPF

Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:13 pm

You probably done something wrong.

I am sure mikrotik BGP works perfect in V3 final.
 
User avatar
mojiro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:21 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: BGP and OSPF

Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:42 pm

You probably done something wrong.

I am sure mikrotik BGP works perfect in V3 final.
I have not migrate to v3.0 yet. I wish it be stable with BGP. I do not prefer having two pc's.
Deep to cloud!
 
bluemont
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Reston, Virginia
Contact:

Re: BGP and OSPF

Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:28 pm

Has anyone tried to run two BGP feeds on two different RouterOS boxes with OSPF in the middle?

If so I would be interested in your settings to try to duplicate it here.

We have tried to get it running here and keep seeing weird issues with the iBGP Sessions and multiple BGP feeds. One feed at a time works without a problem.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anav, markos222, mattvie, medharrak, sindy, ysha and 75 guests