Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
ashish
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:50 am
Location: Virginia, USA.

VRRP Example

Tue Dec 25, 2007 1:51 pm

I am NOT getting any idea from the docs of VRRP.

Both the router should have same configuration.

I mean IP address n all. And how about the connectivity. I mean outgoing connection should be in the same switch.

Please give me any example for configuration.
- AP - ASHISH PATEL - 757 309 0236 -
 
User avatar
maximan
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:10 am
Location: Rio Cuarto, Argentina
Contact:

Re: VRRP Example

Tue Dec 25, 2007 10:52 pm

Check the manual there are an example

http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/2. ... .php#.52.4

Max
MKE Solutions > Professional Support IT (Spanish / English)
FastNetMon / FNM Manager: DDoS Detection Tools.
 
User avatar
ashish
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:50 am
Location: Virginia, USA.

Re: VRRP Example

Wed Dec 26, 2007 6:34 am

Thanks Max,
But i as have written, i am little confused with the connectivity.

My Network is.

Internet-->MT WAN---|LAN1|LAN2--->Switch and from there to client.

MT WAN-59.160.X.X
MT LAN1-192.168.1.1/24
MT LAN - 10.10.10.1/24

Both LAN are connected to one switch.

Now if i put another MikroTik,
The same IP i have to assign to WAN, LAN1 & LAN2 and again where i have to terminate the connectivity in the same switch.

I am little confused.
- AP - ASHISH PATEL - 757 309 0236 -
 
Binayak
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 4:11 pm
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: VRRP Example

Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:33 pm

Actually you will require to put a common IP in between that the master router will publish and two unique ip for both your routers.

Secondly VRRP by defaults helps if you workout with single interface on one side in your case you would need to take support of a script to manage the situation.

Binayak
Network Engineer.
Lucknow
+91 9839567121
 
pekr
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 9:05 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: VRRP Example

Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:25 pm

Hi guys,

we are "upgrading" our line next month, switching providers, and so going for Ceragon based connection to ISP. Can't wait for it, instead of going thru other smaller providers :-)

Well, as we might as well resale connectivity in our area, and everything is now gonna be distributed from that one particular connection node, I would also like to have a good sleep, so I thought about some fail-over solution, and VRRP comes to mind. What do you think of following plan? (bear with me, I am not good at networking that much, it is just that with MT it just works :-):

Ceragon (30 - 40mbit) -> switch -> VRRP [PC SuperMicro | PC SuperMicro] -> switch -> [RBxy -> RBxy | RBxy -> RBxy]

My brother wanted to have even radios in those PCs, but I am not sure about that, if you are delivering 30 - 50mbit (hopefully in one year) to other sites. So I thought it might be better to use those SuperMicro boards based PCs with 2x gibabit Ethernets in VRRP mode, to create fail-over, and distribute to particular subnodes on RB to RB PTP basis.

Does such set-up sound reasonable, or is it waste of resources to think in PTP RB to RB way, and should be easily install 6x radio directly into PC router? Or is it better (due to relatively hight traffic, maintanace wise etc.) to separate main router as I proposed?

Thanks a lot,
Petr
 
User avatar
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: VRRP Example

Sat Jan 05, 2008 7:03 am

Its possible and doable. The only thing VRRP does its move the IPs, the config is not changed, so that is the headache left.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: VRRP Example

Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:31 am

if you have to have failover of one link and there are only 2 devices like:
|----- B -----|
A              D
|----- C -----|
B and C is failover devices

A and D is destination points

then you have to have 2 pairs of VRRP when one switch over, then the other one does the same.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], dave864, Google Feedfetcher, keithy, nevolex, sindy, xvo and 66 guests