Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Limiting users Data

Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:16 am

Hi Guys,

We are looking at how we can inforce 'data-caps'. Currently we use PPP with Free-Radius for authentication and accounting. We use MT PPPoE Server on various routers to authorise clients via our radius database. We use queues on our edge router to determine / prioritize / limit customers traffic / data rates.

What we want to do is be able to automatically enforce data caps and reduce customers to a slower speed once they have reached their 'cap', as our service is offered with various limits. How can we do this? i dont think user-manager is right for our needs. How do others here do it? It has since become impractical for us to do it manually.

Thanks in advance!
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Limiting users Data

Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:34 am

No one?
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Limiting users Data

Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:10 am

Just to give you some direction, this would have to be done in the scripting.

You would have to look at each queue, look for the slower speed, and reset to normal speed
then look at each queue, see the total moved, if > xxx then set to lower speed
then reset the counter of each queue.

Sounds simple, programming it may not be.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: casperjjordaan, Milotop, tberg and 148 guests