Community discussions

 
kdavid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 8:11 pm

v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Wed Jan 16, 2008 11:54 pm

I found a big BUG in v 3 and in all RC, too.

The problem is forzing the client AP like ovislink 5450, 5460, 1120 and some WIFI PCI cards older than 1 year.
With newest are no problem!

If the signal is very strong stese client aps are runing good. If the signal is poor than the client Ap is froze and i must restart it. After that the client is runing no longer than 2 minutes and it frozes agan.

On 2.9.x there was no problem !


...sorry for my English :)....
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:13 am

According to every other post you've made you have always had problems... makes me wonder about operator error.
 
kdavid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 8:11 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:55 am

According to every other post you've made you have always had problems... makes me wonder about operator error.

Yes I have problems becouse I bought 18 RB600 and I changed my RB 532. There are a lot of costumers and I need to find a solve.

The firmware version on the Ovislink AP is V 3.2.1.3.8e

EDIT:

You can check this problef if you are very slowly disconecting the antena conector than the client ap goes down :(
this problem is only on ROS v 3.x or RC
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:20 am

What exactly is freezing? Your non-MT clients or your MT AP?
 
kdavid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 8:11 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:50 am

What exactly is freezing? Your non-MT clients or your MT AP?
Only my non -MT clients ... like older ovislinks
 
kdavid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 8:11 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:38 am

test with Prism 2.5 is everything OK, no ovislink frozing :) ...


On RB600 I use R52 ... it is the same
 
bokili
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 8:52 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 3:47 am

Maybe the problem is driver if it is changed in v3.
 
User avatar
gmeyer
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:56 am
Location: Esperanza, Santa Fe, Argentina
Contact:

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 5:20 am

I have the same problem with AP RB333/RB133 + minipci atheros (senao NMP-8602 plus/ubiquiti xr2/compex WLM54AG 6A23) and clients WL-1302 chipset realtek 8181 ( http://www.ccandc.com.tw/product/11b-wl-1302.htm )
I need a solution urgent
Gabriel J. M. Meyer
CCNA, Red Hat Linux Administrator
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 5:46 am

I was having problems too. Started running my SR2's at 23 dbm and decreased hardware retries to 7 and haven't had any more problems.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:16 am

well come on, if your client is freezing, then the problem is obviously in the client. one could easily turn this issue into a security risk and go crashing the client devices in the city.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
kdavid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 8:11 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:53 am

I was having problems too. Started running my SR2's at 23 dbm and decreased hardware retries to 7 and haven't had any more problems.

What function is the HW retries? What is the best settings for R52 ?
 
kdavid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 8:11 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:54 am

well come on, if your client is freezing, then the problem is obviously in the client. one could easily turn this issue into a security risk and go crashing the client devices in the city.
I am sorry but the is no problem with client ! If clients are runing with no problem with diferent APs just the problem is with mikrotik V 3.x and RC
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 10:06 am

well come on, if your client is freezing, then the problem is obviously in the client. one could easily turn this issue into a security risk and go crashing the client devices in the city.
I am sorry but the is no problem with client ! If clients are runing with no problem with diferent APs just the problem is with mikrotik V 3.x and RC
if you can cause a device to crash so easily, it's a problem with the device obviously. anyone with this knowledge could build a wireless device that would destroy your network if it consists of these devices. this is a security risk and should be taken to the manufacturers support. we can't debug why the device crashed because we haven't made it.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
kdavid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 8:11 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:26 am

I was having problems too. Started running my SR2's at 23 dbm and decreased hardware retries to 7 and haven't had any more problems.

I tryed to set the hardware retries to 7 and it is more more better ! But it nos no the same line in 2.9.x
 
ianek
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:53 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:23 am

1. Same problem here, ovislink clients are frozing in all ROS 3,0. WHen using 2,9,50 i see no problem.
2. Additionaly - on my X86 router when upgraded to ROS 3,0 my atheros clients - p2p got randomly freezed, after random time the client seems to be connected but is not receiving data. Enable/disable card to reconnect. Same with 2,9,xx client , also with 3,0 client. Repeating randomly from 2 to 12 hours.
Downgrade back to 2,9,50 cleared the problem.
Seems we have long way to get it work properly.

Jan
 
kdavid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 8:11 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:35 am

1. Same problem here, ovislink clients are frozing in all ROS 3,0. WHen using 2,9,50 i see no problem.
2. Additionaly - on my X86 router when upgraded to ROS 3,0 my atheros clients - p2p got randomly freezed, after random time the client seems to be connected but is not receiving data. Enable/disable card to reconnect. Same with 2,9,xx client , also with 3,0 client. Repeating randomly from 2 to 12 hours.
Downgrade back to 2,9,50 cleared the problem.
Seems we have long way to get it work properly.

Jan
Try to change the output power to 13 dB ... It is better
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:34 am

What kind of Atheros clients?

I am using a diverse mix of Tranzeo CPE-200 CPE-80 CPE-90 and CPQ's in addition to Engenius CB3's for client devices with no issues.
 
biker
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:45 am

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Fri Jan 18, 2008 5:19 am

I change my RB532 for RB 333 and all my clients with realtek 8181 (Jath, micronet, edimax) ramdomsly crash and start to connect, disconnect, and i have the same problem with long links (30km) with realtek 8186, this only in v3 with v2.9.50 no problems, any solutions?
 
ianek
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:53 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:04 pm

1. Same problem here, ovislink clients are frozing in all ROS 3,0. WHen using 2,9,50 i see no problem.
2. Additionaly - on my X86 router when upgraded to ROS 3,0 my atheros clients - p2p got randomly freezed, after random time the client seems to be connected but is not receiving data. Enable/disable card to reconnect. Same with 2,9,xx client , also with 3,0 client. Repeating randomly from 2 to 12 hours.
Downgrade back to 2,9,50 cleared the problem.
Seems we have long way to get it work properly.

Jan
Try to change the output power to 13 dB ... It is better
I dont think this is a solution - i rolled back to 2.9
 
ambse
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:25 am

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Sun Jan 20, 2008 1:20 am

hello everybody,

I have exactly the same problem (client connect disconnect every second) with RB333 with up-to-date firmware and ros 3.0rc14 or 3.0
I use client Linksys WRT54GL with DDwrtV23.sp2 for firmware.
I use WPA / TKIP mode for security and R52 wireless cards.
But with RB532, no problem with V2.9.3x-->v2.9.50 and same config for client (only migrate AP RB532 ->RB333 in our networks).

I need a solution !

Eric
 
fire
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:32 am

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:36 am

Same problem.
Client with ap(linksys wrt54..) have problems(every 1s disconnect) on ver 3.0
On version 2.9.50 everything works fine.
Log:
jan/20 23:43:44 wireless,info 00:0F:66:C7:6B:F5@MW-SS-Sjever: connected
jan/20 23:43:45 wireless,info 00:0F:66:C7:6B:F5@MW-SS-Sjever: reassociating
jan/20 23:43:45 wireless,info 00:0F:66:C7:6B:F5@MW-SS-Sjever: disconnected, ok
jan/20 23:43:45 wireless,info 00:0F:66:C7:6B:F5@MW-SS-Sjever: connected
jan/20 23:43:46 wireless,info 00:0F:66:C7:6B:F5@MW-SS-Sjever: reassociating
jan/20 23:43:46 wireless,info 00:0F:66:C7:6B:F5@MW-SS-Sjever: disconnected, ok
jan/20 23:43:46 wireless,info 00:0F:66:C7:6B:F5@MW-SS-Sjever: connected
jan/20 23:43:47 wireless,info 00:0F:66:C7:6B:F5@MW-SS-Sjever: reassociating
jan/20 23:43:47 wireless,info 00:0F:66:C7:6B:F5@MW-SS-Sjever: disconnected, ok
jan/20 23:43:47 wireless,info 00:0F:66:C7:6B:F5@MW-SS-Sjever: connected
...
Signal is -54dBm.
 
marko_bg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 11:48 am

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:00 pm

I do not try v3 ,

but ovislink work normal only with this firmware ...

http://www.appro54g.com/

try and tell us if this resolved problem.
 
Disassembler
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:36 pm

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:49 pm

I'm having similar problem.
I had Ovis5460 AP and 8 Ovis5460 clients, all of them using APPro or APLite firmware, WPA2/AES encryption and everything was OK. Except the transfer rates.
So I bought RB333 (RouterOS level4 3.0rc13) and Atheros R52 and replaced the 5460 AP. Transfer speed has increased significantly, but behaviour of site became weird. Some of the clients (mostly inactive ones) were dropped after several minutes and sometimes I couldn't ping even active clients.

I found out, that the moment of client loss is when AP is updating the group key (in WinBox: wireless->security profiles->[profile]->general->Group Key Update). Default is 00:05:00. 5mins was also time from client connect to client drop (we're talking about "sleeping" clients = 5460s with minimal transfer rate (0-5 packets/s)). I tried to play with "on fail retry time", "frame lifetime", "hardware retries" and many other fields with no success.
So I tried to set my site to WEP encryption... and clients are dropped no more.

So. Can anyone tell me, how to set MT to WPA2/AES without dropping "inactive" Ovis5460 clients?

Downgrading to 2.9 is NOT a solution! (but upgrading to non-rc 3.x is acceptable, I'll try it :) )
Exchanging 5460s to another devices is NOT a solution!
Pinging from client to AP is NOT a solution! (watchdog was always turned off, but even if i turn it on, min. interval is 3mins, which is probably too little)
Keeping WEP encryption is NOT a solution!
Thanks :)

//edit: Upgraded to RouterOS 3.6 and problems with WPA(TKIP and also AES) persists. :(
 
nikolav
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:15 am

Re: v3.0 big BUG BUG BUG

Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:50 pm

Same problem with MT 4.3,with older firmware for Ovislink 5460.It keeps disconnecting.We updated firmware to e18 and now it's stable.But now there is another problem,When it reach maximum speed,tx/rx rate drops to 6/54 and it slows down to 400-500 KB/s (download on client side).It does not happens with upload.It's stable and fast.What could be a problem?

(sorry for my bad english :D)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 128 guests