Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Tasmanet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Installation Problem

Fri Jan 18, 2008 4:39 am

Hi Guys,

Pulling my hair out here trying to resolve this problem.

I have just built a new Intel Core Duo system based on a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L/S3L motherboard.
I have installed an 80gig seagate IDE HDD, and an IDE CD-Rom drive. When i tried installing 2.9.50 via an ISO CD it starts de-compressing unix and starting the installation procedure. It then starts detecting HDD and says "No Harddrives found"
BIOS can see the HDD, and when i put a windows hard drive in the machine it quite happily boots.

I then tried installing Mikrotik onto the hard drive in a different machine, and it installed fine, put it back in the other machine and it begins booting and then halts saying

"uncompressing linux.... OK booting kernel
ERROR could not find disk!
Please attach it somewhere else."

I then tried using a SATA drive in the system, and it found the hard drive on installation, then came up with an error saying it couldnt find the CD Drive, even though it had begun installing mikrotik from it???

I then tried all of the above with the latest version 3 ROS, and got the same problems.

I then tried it on an identical system, and same problem.

Any ideas? Just frustrating after buying 2 brand new rack mounted systems to build core routers on.

any ideas would be greatly appreciated :)

andy.
 
User avatar
JJCinAZ
Member
Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:03 am
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: Installation Problem

Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:40 pm

Unfortunately, you don't have access into the guts of the underlying linux system to be able to add/remove/update necessary drivers and config to get ROS to work with all motherboards. You're option, aside from trying to disable all extra MB features via the BIOS, is to try another MB. Stay with a simple one with few features for best luck.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3823
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:09 pm

if you can install linux on it and it works, then I would think MT will make it work... however, at one point in time i think they said that chipset wouldnt even run linux (yet) maybe.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
EgyCom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 9:47 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:14 pm

i don't think that ROS will able to boot form HDD on this board since it has one of the latest intel chipset (P35/ICH9)

but you could disable (SATA AHCI Mode) , disable (SATA Native mode) , use any SATA HD and give it a try
 
User avatar
acim
Member
Member
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:26 am
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Installation Problem

Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:28 pm

There is some option legacy IDE in BIOS, try to turn that on.
 
Tasmanet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Installation Problem

Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:59 am

I ended up getting it going,
I had to install RouterOS on the HDD in an external USB SATA drive enclosure, on a different computer.
Once it was installed, i just swapped the drive back to the original machine, and it booted fine.

Looks like you cant install mikrotik from an IDE CD drive to a SATA harddrive on this chipset motherboard.

Cheers,
Andy
 
User avatar
acim
Member
Member
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:26 am
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Installation Problem

Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:18 am

But, is it possible to install on IDE driver? Actually, IDE flash?
 
elderado
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:02 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Thu Mar 20, 2008 3:01 pm

 
User avatar
acim
Member
Member
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:26 am
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Installation Problem

Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:09 am

I've tried installation to my Linux server which has GA-P35C-DS3R motherboard with no success, so I decided to get GA-945P-XXX (I don't remember exactly) motherboard even though it is worse. I need strong base station with five 5GHz cards, but even this motherboard shoud work the job. I plan to put Core 2 Dual CPU E4500 I think.
 
viktorc
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 4:00 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Thu Apr 17, 2008 4:15 pm

I had the same problem. Solution I found is:
install MikroTik on USB flash drive via NetInstall (3.7).

Kernel used in 3.7 doesn't support PATA controller used on P35 chipset.

My MB is ASUS P5KC
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: Installation Problem

Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:53 am

I have problem with NO CD-ROM FOUND but it startup installation before that :? :? :? :? :?

HP ProLiant (Intel Xeon) with SATA HDD & SATA CD/DVD-ROM

With NetInstall near the end of Formating HDD, NetInstall display message FAILED it seems like timeout because its formating 250GB hdd.
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
gopaul2004
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 7:57 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:35 pm

hi,
i have a intel dual core pc with intel motherboard and SATA hard drive .me also see the error no harddrive found. i just chage the configuration from BIOS IDE/SATA =Legacy. now it's find the hard disk.

But
the problem is : after the installation when the machine restart it show the error """ No bootable disk, insert the boot disk and press any key """""

is there any one who can help me..plz plz plz plz


thanking
krishna
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8421
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Installation Problem

Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:45 am

hmmm... Supermicro MB + SATA in AHCI mode works like a charm for me... what version do you install?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
mikemgr
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 9:13 am

Re: Installation Problem

Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:39 am

I have problem with NO CD-ROM FOUND but it startup installation before that

HP ProLiant (Intel Xeon) with SATA HDD & SATA CD/DVD-ROM

With NetInstall near the end of Formating HDD, NetInstall display message FAILED it seems like timeout because its formating 250GB hdd.

I have the same problem :(
 
rupendrarathore
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: Installation Problem

Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:42 pm

Hello,

I have newly purchased Huawei server (H1288 Model) with sata drive, But we have installation problem as "No drive found"
raid controllers : LSISAS2308
Mikrotik RouterOS tried : 6.36

Kindly help to install OS
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8421
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Installation Problem

Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:56 pm

Try to install it on another PC and then move the drive to the server
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 117 guests