Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:51 am

We have I guess the new Beta version RB333 power P.C router os boards. But when you try to access the new device through Winbox. It says that it cant find Roteros.dll. very annoying. I could only access through Neighbor viewer and possible serial port ( didn't try). I had to set IP to a local IP and then I could drag and drop the latest 300 platform OS through Winbox. After that every thing seems to work fine. But, it sure is a let down when you have to spend the extra time with configuration.
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:40 am

Wanting to say that is an issue with winbox and your PC not the RB. Search around on the forum. I know I've heard of this problem before...
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:27 am

yeah I have heard of it too
I have downloaded the new version of Winbox. but it doesn't help. I haven't ever had the problem with other boards only RB333
 
Gerard
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Kentucky, USA
Contact:

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:09 pm

Disable secure mode in winbox when connecting via mac. It should work better.. Sometimes you will have to try 2-3 times to get all of the winbox files downloaded for a new mikrotik version..

-Gerard
Certified Mikrotik Trainer
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:48 pm

Ok thanks
 
User avatar
leoktv
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:32 am

If you still are having problem try to clear the cache in winbox.
_________________
Leo De Geer, Mikrotik Certified Consultant/Trainer #TR0003, MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCUME, MTCIPv6E MTCSE MTCASE & MikroTik Distributor
http://www.mikrotik.se
support[at]mikrotik.se
Office: +46 325 660 650
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:31 am

thank you
 
Tanker
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:46 am

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:25 am

I had the same problem....

Logged into another (working RB) and mac telnet-ed into the unit which would not open with WinBox...

system reset from the console

....... and it came back fine after the reboot and WinBox connected...

reload the latest OS and all is OK now.

Hope this helps

T
 
User avatar
jacoblydon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Sat Jan 26, 2008 4:25 am

Yeah it works fine with new OS, It just sucked because, we had no idea when we were out in the field and had to pack up and couldn't finish the job until we checked the forum.
 
Tanker
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:46 am

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:38 am

Hmmmmm....

I think it's called "preparation".....

I'd whack my techs upside the head if they went into the "field" without testing first... but yeah - I know I know... sometimes you have to try a work-a-round in the field only to discover you're actually going backwards....

That's why we have a little "planning session" BEFORE leaving for the "field"...

I've been in the same situation - when you get the feeling you need to "call a friend" for the answer... :)

T
 
dxnation
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: Rajkot, Bangalore
Contact:

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:58 pm

i have a RB133 which had a similar issue:

could not get roteros.dll: no reply!

I had deleted the Winbox folder, downloaded the new exe and ran the application for MAC login.

However, the routerboard keeps on getting disconnected ?

why does it reboots everytime I login using Winbox ?

has anyone faced this issue ?

I have downloaded... ROS: 2.9.50 but will not be installing it for now. Will wait for a response from you :)
MTCNA, 18th Apr 2008.
 
User avatar
leoktv
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Re: New RB333 boards having problems accessing with WInbox

Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:10 pm

I would start by uppgrading the system to 2.9.50 or better 3.2
_________________
Leo De Geer, Mikrotik Certified Consultant/Trainer #TR0003, MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCUME, MTCIPv6E MTCSE MTCASE & MikroTik Distributor
http://www.mikrotik.se
support[at]mikrotik.se
Office: +46 325 660 650

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ebbarkj, Kombat1978, Xtremer and 72 guests