Page 1 of 1

ROS v3.0 freezing client computers!

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:01 am
by ManUtd
Hi,
I have AP with RB333 and 3 miniPCI on it. 2 Compex WLM54G for clients and 1 R52 for link. Clients are connected trough 2 sectors (120 degree each) and ALL clients have same equipment (D-Link PCI card, 20db grid antenna). Some of them works fine and never disconnect and some have problem that computer freezes while surfing. No disconnect, just freezing whole computer and only restart helps. While there are offline, computers works fine. Win XP on all.
Updating to v3.0, downgrading to rcX - nothing help.
Sectors are working on different channels, 1 and 11, CCQ on both is alomost 100%, ping 5-10ms for every client....what is wrong ? Anyone have this issue ?

Re: ROS v3.0 freezing client computers!

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:24 am
by mstead
Hi,

Unfortunately this is not a Mikrotik problem. Your client PC's are where the problem lies. Your best bet is a to replace all the d-link cards with a mikrotik ethernet based client.

It MAY be that someone here can suggest a workaround for you but I really doubt it.

This is probably why nobody has replied to this thread.

Anyone here that thinks I'm wrong please speak up..

Malcolm

Re: ROS v3.0 freezing client computers!

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:27 am
by normis
Of course the Windows machine can freeze only due to a bug in software drivers. If we could find out why, we could make a workaround. Did you try upgrading to 3.1? There is a fix for other client wireless issues.

Re: ROS v3.0 freezing client computers!

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:09 pm
by ManUtd
Of course the Windows machine can freeze only due to a bug in software drivers. If we could find out why, we could make a workaround. Did you try upgrading to 3.1? There is a fix for other client wireless issues.
I also think that the problem is not in ROS but how can else explain? Everyone use same d-link cards with same software (driver version) and only some of users have that problem. On 2.9.x everything works just fine. Same AP and client equipment and config.
I didn't try 3.1 jet but I'll try.

Re: ROS v3.0 freezing client computers!

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:08 am
by normis
Upgrade to 3.1 and if the disconnections continue, add new LOG topic "wireless,debug" and then send us supout.rif file that you make when the problem appears

Re: Springs VS Mikrotik!

Posted: Sun May 26, 2013 7:37 pm
by EliteSystems
You don't have to be able to ping it in order to connect via MAC.


Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2