Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
triac
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:35 pm
Location: Italy

Multiple GW's in a MT 3.1 PPPoE server...

Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:45 pm

Hi, first of all excuse me for my english, it's very terrible! I hope You can understand me!!

I have a problem with MT 3.1 used as PPPoE server...
I have 6 DSL connections and 32 public IP's for every DSL... I want assign a public IP for every CPE connected but not statically, I want assign IP's dynamically, for obtain this I've created a chain of ip pools (three IP's for every pool...example: Pool1=IP 1,2,3 of DSL1-->Pool2=IP 1,2,3 of DSL2-->Pool3=IP 1,2,3 of DSL3-------->Pool6=IP 1,2,3 of DSL6-->Pool7=IP 4,5,6 of DSL1-->Pool8=IP 4,5,6 of DSL2 etc). In this mode I have a "virtual" load balancing...
My problem is this: How I can configure gateways for every subnet?

In other words the cpe's that have obtained IP from pool 1 must use ONLY the DSL1 GW, the cpe's that have obtained IP from pool 2 must use ONLY the DSL2 GW etc...

How I can make this?

TNX
Paolo Torri
 
leequince
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Multiple GW's in a MT 3.1 PPPoE server...

Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:06 pm

Triac,

You need to create policy rule under routing...

So i.e

Rule 1 SRC=X.X.X.X lookup routing table x

Then in the routing table..

table x dst=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=DSL1

Hope this helps.

Regards

Lee
 
triac
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:35 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Multiple GW's in a MT 3.1 PPPoE server...

Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:02 pm

Hi Lee, tnx for reply...

don't work :(

I think the problem it's the gateway assigned to the CPE's from the PPPoE...
PPPoE server assign a public IP and a GW to a CPE... the public IP are taken from DSL Pools and GW it's the IP assigned to W-LAN card...

Example: CPE1 Conf:
PPPoE: Connected:
Wireless IP: 88.6x.xx.163
Subnet: 255.255.255.255
Gateway: 10.1.1.1

CPE2 Conf:
PPPoE: Connected:
Wireless IP: 88.6x.xx.164
Subnet: 255.255.255.255
Gateway: 10.1.1.1

CPE3 Conf:
PPPoE: Connected:
Wireless IP: 88.6x.xx.165
Subnet: 255.255.255.255
Gateway: 10.1.1.1

CPE4 Conf:
PPPoE: Connected:
Wireless IP: 85.3x.xx.171
Subnet: 255.255.255.255
Gateway: 10.1.1.1

etc...


10.1.1.1 it's the IP assigned to W_LAN card, where PPPoE it's active. All CPE's have the same gateway.

The profile of my PPPoE server it's this:

Name: PPPoE profile
Local Address: 10.1.1.1
Remote Address: DSL Pool

If I configure in IP/ROUTE 88.6x.xx.161 (the IP of DSL1 router) as default GW the first three CPE's work fine but the CPE4 dont work... if I change GW with 85.3x.xx.161 (the IP of DSL2 router), the CPE4 work dut CPE's 1,2,3 dont work...

I hope to have correctly explained my problem...
Paolo Torri
 
leequince
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Multiple GW's in a MT 3.1 PPPoE server...

Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:22 pm

Understand know..

We have the same problem when we try to loadbalance a provider here, they dish out the same gateway ip for each connection.

Now i did read that it is possible to do interface routing now in MT, but when I tried it I could not get it to work..

When you create the route and then specifiy the interface it allways then shows two interfaces for the route, the first from the gateway IP and the second from Interface part of the route.

Anyhelp from anybody else on here would be appreciated..

Regards

Lee

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests