Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

L2TP on RB150

Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:38 pm

Hi all,

I am new to this forum, and this is my first post. I hope I am posting in the correct section, so pls excuse my ignorance.

I have a RB150 with the 2.9.50 ver firmware, that I have configured to do L2TP VPN. The connection is established and holds up. I want to connect my VOIP adapter to operate through the L2TP tunnel. What I need to know is how to configure the RB150 so that it issues an IP address from the L2TP server to the VOIP adapter.

I have a similar scenario working using a Win XP PC with an additional NIC.

Pls advise
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: L2TP on RB150

Sat Jan 26, 2008 4:50 pm

Any ideas on this? Thanks.
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: L2TP on RB150

Sat Jan 26, 2008 6:02 pm

Hi all,

I am new to this forum, and this is my first post. I hope I am posting in the correct section, so pls excuse my ignorance.

I have a RB150 with the 2.9.50 ver firmware, that I have configured to do L2TP VPN. The connection is established and holds up. I want to connect my VOIP adapter to operate through the L2TP tunnel. What I need to know is how to configure the RB150 so that it issues an IP address from the L2TP server to the VOIP adapter.

I have a similar scenario working using a Win XP PC with an additional NIC.

Pls advise
Bridge L2TP tunnel and interface where VOIP adapter is connected. Create DHCP server on that bridge.

/Henrik
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: L2TP on RB150

Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:31 pm

Thanks for the response. I will try it and let you know results. Thanks.
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: L2TP on RB150

Tue Jan 29, 2008 1:38 am

While using WinBox we have done the following:

Created bridge1
Added interface port 4 to bridge1
created DHCP client


What we were unable to figure out is...
while adding interfaces there is no option for our L2TP tunnel... where do we add this?
More details would be appreciated.
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: L2TP on RB150

Wed Jan 30, 2008 4:41 pm

Any ideas as to how to get this done, if possible?
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: L2TP on RB150

Thu May 08, 2008 4:21 pm

Hi guys,

I am still trying to get this done. Do you think that upgrading to 3.7 will solve this? Pls advise.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5960
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: L2TP on RB150

Thu May 08, 2008 5:23 pm

ppp interfaces can be bridged only in version 3.x.
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: L2TP on RB150

Fri May 09, 2008 8:03 am

I had upgrade from 2.9 to 3.0 in an effort to get this working, but I still have not been able to do so. When I try to create a bridge, I don't see any of the PPP interfaces as an option. Am I doing something wrong?
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5960
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: L2TP on RB150

Fri May 09, 2008 10:12 am

Create bridge, in ppp profile specify which bridge to use, when l2tp connect interface will be automatically added to bridge ports. You have to do this on both ends, otherwise it won't work.
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: L2TP on RB150

Mon May 26, 2008 9:21 am

Tried the bridging thing, but that did not solve my problem. All I am trying to do is to get my VOIP adapter to work through the VPN tunnel. Is there a way to let the VOIP adapter get a IP address from a remote server through the VPN tunnel?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ipfw, MSN [Bot], paxtonc, turnip and 65 guests