Community discussions

 
CarulloS
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:52 am

ROS 3.2 on x86

Sat Feb 09, 2008 3:07 am

I wanted to make sure folks were running this without problems. I have some systems I was about to upgrade but I'm holding until I hear back. This was from another thread but mixed with lots of other stuff...
I'm using ROS on x86 PC.
Tried to upgrade 3.0 to 3.2 via combined package, the ROS stopped responding after reboot. The only thing in console is "Loading system".
Tried reinstalling 3.2 from CD and it didn't help. Reinstalling 3.1 help, it works again.
Does anyone have same problem?
Thanks,
Scott
 
valens
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:42 pm
Location: INDONESIA
Contact:

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:56 am

I have several machines (PC, RB230) now running ROS 3.2 and have no problem.
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:08 pm

I am running 3.2 on a dell poweredge860 without any issue.

There are two issues to be aware:
1. you have to disable the multi-cpu, because it is still unstable at kernel level;
2. you don't have to use the L7 filter, it is still unstable causing the crash of the router.

Regards
Ros
 
User avatar
hulk-bd
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Uttara, Dhaka, Bangladesh

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:21 pm

I'm running Ver 3.2 with multi-cpu on and layer-7 protocol used and facing no problem, it's working just fine.

Thanks
Don't worry, be happy :) .......
 
User avatar
magic
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: Sopron, Hungary
Contact:

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:25 am

I have only 1 pc which don't boot with 3.2 after upgrade (I didn't tried other v3 version on this maschine). Also tried netinstall, but didn't help. After the Uncompressing linux...booting the kernel message the pc frozen. This worked very well with 2.9.x series.
Others works fine.

Config: Asrock p4vm890+Celeron 2.26GHz+192Mb DDR RAM+ Maxtor 20Gb HDD

Supout file sent to support.

Krisz
Krisztian Gancs
RLAN Internet Ltd.
http://www.rlan.hu
 
mrxbgd
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:22 am

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:45 pm

I have problem with 3.2 version on x86. Mashine freese after couple hour. We downgrade to 3.0 and everything works.

We sent supoat file.
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:02 am

I have 3 units on 3.2 no issues (other than a known CALEA issue that has been noted and is in a "fix process")..
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
redkurawa
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 4:13 am
Contact:

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Tue Feb 12, 2008 4:55 am

I used one unit with v3.2, with multi-cpu enable, and it's work normal
 
rkorolev
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:49 pm

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:22 am

I'm using ROS on HP Proliant DL140.
Neigher upgrade from 3.1 to 3.2, nor clean install of 3.2 from CD works.
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:21 pm

Is the DL140 a "G1" ?
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:06 am

We have about 30 systems running 3.2 already. No major issues expect the few that have multi-core issues with SMP. Turn off SMP for those and no issues as of yet.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
rkorolev
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:49 pm

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:16 am

There's a reply from support, that they fixed drivers in release of 3.3.
And there's more good news:
What's new in 3.3:
*) fixed bug - PPPoE server could crash when running on multiple cores;

Will try to upgrade on monday...
 
idelac3
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:16 pm

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:14 am

I have several machines (PC, RB230) now running ROS 3.2 and have no problem.
But, did you install ROS 3.2 yourself or it was pre-installed?
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: ROS 3.2 on x86

Mon Feb 18, 2008 4:43 am

All installed myself, or upgraded myself.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 130 guests