Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
fosben
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:50 pm

2x rb 333 problem [solved]

Tue Feb 12, 2008 4:06 pm

I got 2 new 333 boards yesterday... Problem is I cant access them. Poe/ether1 port doesnt connect at all on one card (cable unplugged), but ether2 works.
I then did a discover in winbox, found mac and ip 0.0.0.0. When I tried to connect I get the error "could not get routeros.dll". I then tried to mac telnet it, but I get connection timeout.
Then I tried to go to serial console and reset configuration, but it didnt help me at all. Any suggestions ?

Edit:

Netinstall tested.. so far no success.. I get this over and over..

Press any key within 2 seconds to enter setup..
trying bootp protocol............................... OK
Got IP address: 176.16.0.5
failed to resolve mac address
kernel loading failed
Last edited by fosben on Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: 2x rb 333 problem

Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:49 pm

I think the boards were not new :lol:
 
Tanker
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:46 am

Re: 2x rb 333 problem

Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:53 am

Connect the RB333 to a working RB (any flavour) on the Ethernet Port and MAC Telnet into it....

Once you're connected

/system reset-configuration

Once it re-boots you will be able to access the board on either interface discovery by MAC Address

T
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6619
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: 2x rb 333 problem

Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:59 pm

fosben,

do you use the latest Netinstall version ?

try to isolate router and computer from other network and run directly netinstall between them.
 
fosben
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:50 pm

Re: 2x rb 333 problem

Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:39 pm

new day, fresher brain...

As I was reading my post again today I noticed that I had set the boot ip to 176.16.0.5 and not to 172.16.0.5. So it couldnt resolve the mac. Today I set both in same range and tried it again. It failed for about 10 minutes, but suddenly it got ip and resolved mac. I managed to install both 333's with routeros 3.2 and now they both work like they should :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: almdandi, fedus and 141 guests