Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
tjohnson
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:01 am

Wireless Linktest

Thu Feb 14, 2008 7:21 pm

I have a suggestion for a feature that would be very helpful with wireless networks. I would like to see a "linktest" option available when you right-click on a wireless entry in the registration table. This option would send 100 packets (1600 byte size) to and from the connected radio, 10 times. It would then report the following information:

Distance (based on time calculation)
Error rate from AP to client (shown in %)
Error rate from client to AP (shown in %)
Calculated throughput based on the results

Here is an example of another wireless radio that does this exact thing:

[pkt len] 1600 bytes [# of pkts per cycle] 100 [cycle] 10

0 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 95 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 500 ms 4992 Kbps
1 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 96 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 501 ms 5007 Kbps
2 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 95 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 98 [SU RxErr] 0 501 ms 4982 Kbps
3 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 98 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 500 ms 5068 Kbps
4 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 95 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 99 [SU RxErr] 0 501 ms 4982 Kbps
5 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 97 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 500 ms 5043 Kbps
6 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 96 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 501 ms 5007 Kbps
7 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 95 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 500 ms 4992 Kbps
8 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 97 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 501 ms 5033 Kbps
9 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 94 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 99 [SU RxErr] 0 500 ms 4966 Kbps

[AP Total nTx] 1000 pkts
[AP Total nRx] 958 pkts
[AP Total nRxErr] 0 pkts

[SU Total nTx] 1000 pkts
[SU Total nRx] 996 pkts
[SU Total nRxErr] 0 pkts

[AP to SU Error Rate] 0.40 %
[SU to AP Error Rate] 4.20 %

[Avg of Throughput] 5007 Kbps

Thanks.
Travis
 
User avatar
jordantrx
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: WAY upstate NY

Re: Wireless Linktest

Thu Feb 14, 2008 8:10 pm

I have a suggestion for a feature that would be very helpful with wireless networks. I would like to see a "linktest" option available when you right-click on a wireless entry in the registration table. This option would send 100 packets (1600 byte size) to and from the connected radio, 10 times. It would then report the following information:

Distance (based on time calculation)
Error rate from AP to client (shown in %)
Error rate from client to AP (shown in %)
Calculated throughput based on the results

Here is an example of another wireless radio that does this exact thing:

[pkt len] 1600 bytes [# of pkts per cycle] 100 [cycle] 10

0 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 95 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 500 ms 4992 Kbps
1 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 96 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 501 ms 5007 Kbps
2 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 95 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 98 [SU RxErr] 0 501 ms 4982 Kbps
3 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 98 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 500 ms 5068 Kbps
4 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 95 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 99 [SU RxErr] 0 501 ms 4982 Kbps
5 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 97 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 500 ms 5043 Kbps
6 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 96 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 501 ms 5007 Kbps
7 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 95 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 500 ms 4992 Kbps
8 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 97 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 100 [SU RxErr] 0 501 ms 5033 Kbps
9 [AP Tx] 100 [AP Rx] 94 [AP RxErr] 0 [SU Tx] 100 [SU Rx] 99 [SU RxErr] 0 500 ms 4966 Kbps

[AP Total nTx] 1000 pkts
[AP Total nRx] 958 pkts
[AP Total nRxErr] 0 pkts

[SU Total nTx] 1000 pkts
[SU Total nRx] 996 pkts
[SU Total nRxErr] 0 pkts

[AP to SU Error Rate] 0.40 %
[SU to AP Error Rate] 4.20 %

[Avg of Throughput] 5007 Kbps

Thanks.
I like it also. But can it be done!!! :?
~Agricultural WISP "ZONE"~ Beware of oncoming cattle and dont hit the farmer!!! I need to ask him about using his silo for an AP first"~

*Automated Billing Installer* http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/AutomatedBilling Built by Krige ;-)
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Wireless Linktest

Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:41 am

That is a great Idea!
 
shoffmann
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 8:11 am

Re: Wireless Linktest

Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:35 am

I think that this would be a tremendous help to our installers cutting down on truck rolls to diagnose problems that should have been seen at the time of install.

I can't see why it would be a problem to get done. We just need to get the attention of the right person.

While it would probably be more efficient to have this tool embedded in the code I'm sure someone out there could write a script that would accomplish it also.
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Wireless Linktest

Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:33 pm

Excellent idea, however it's implemented (code or script), hope this makes it into the real world
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24317
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Wireless Linktest

Mon Feb 18, 2008 2:00 pm

so your idea is to get the link quality for non mikrotik clients in an easy right-click kind of way? for mikrotik clients the CCQ is the best way to get accurate link quality info. we will think about this, thanks for the suggestion
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
kevin@safelink.net
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 8:25 pm

Re: Wireless Linktest

Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:53 am

We would love to see this option as well. We use these same tools in another vendors radio as well.

Normis, the problem with CCQ though is that if you don't have much data crossing the link then it will give you an inaccurate value. Sure we could setup and use the bandwidth test but we would have to take extra time to do that as well as watch the CCQ value as it is running the bandwidth test. Giving us a linktest utility would make it easy to test the quality of that link quickly and accurately.

Another option in that vendors radio is an ability to do a quick test (20 packets) to each radio to help us assess the health of the entire tower. If we have only two people out of thirty having problems then more than likely it's not a problem with the AP or any equipment at the tower.

-Kevin
 
User avatar
tjohnson
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:01 am

Re: Wireless Linktest

Sun Mar 09, 2008 2:17 am

Normis,

The linktest feature could be for only MT to MT wireless links, if this would make it easier? The problem with CCQ is it does not give you any real information. We have links that have 80/80 CCQ readings that are working fine and we also have links with 25/25 CCQ readings that are working fine. This CCQ number (in a percentage value??) does not really tell you anything.

Even if it would be possible to have a "packet loss" reading (in percentage) listed right below the CCQ value?

There has to be some way to make it easy to test a client's link without getting into their radio and running tests from there. I need to be able to do everything directly from the AP side... and many other radio companies are doing this exact thing (and have been for 5+ years).
Travis
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Wireless Linktest

Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:12 am

The trango linktest is indeed handy. I would be fine with it working with just MT-MT radio links. It's a one-step test that makes troubleshooting much easier and tells a lot about a link.
 
User avatar
jordantrx
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: WAY upstate NY

Re: Wireless Linktest

Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:03 pm

The trango linktest is indeed handy. I would be fine with it working with just MT-MT radio links. It's a one-step test that makes troubleshooting much easier and tells a lot about a link.
i agree, However not everyone usues MK to MK, so this would be also great if you could do it to other units other than MK... I use airbridge and tranzeo for CPE's and it would be nice to use this tool even with them. -Jordan
~Agricultural WISP "ZONE"~ Beware of oncoming cattle and dont hit the farmer!!! I need to ask him about using his silo for an AP first"~

*Automated Billing Installer* http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/AutomatedBilling Built by Krige ;-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 121 guests