Community discussions

 
2dificult4u
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:17 am

how can I reset The OS

Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:07 pm

Folks,

I have forgot my password on my router, and now I have now way how to access on it, is there any help from any of you that can help on this how to reset it or find a way how to log on it ?
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: how can I reset The OS

Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:11 pm

It depends..

If it is a routerboard you can access through console, change the booting interface and reinstall it.
If it is a PC based you have to reinstall it through CD or NetInstall...

Bothways you'll loose all the setup (so you'll have to restore it from a backup) hopping you have done it.
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
User avatar
jordantrx
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: WAY upstate NY

Re: how can I reset The OS

Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:49 pm

It depends..

If it is a routerboard you can access through console, change the booting interface and reinstall it.
If it is a PC based you have to reinstall it through CD or NetInstall...

Bothways you'll loose all the setup (so you'll have to restore it from a backup) hopping you have done it.
Doing a software reset I THINK resets the password and username... But i am not sure.... worth a try though, Using the S-rest shortening them on your board during startup will reset to factory settings i beleive... But not sure about the username and password. Good luck -Jordan
~Agricultural WISP "ZONE"~ Beware of oncoming cattle and dont hit the farmer!!! I need to ask him about using his silo for an AP first"~

*Automated Billing Installer* http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/AutomatedBilling Built by Krige ;-)
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8318
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: how can I reset The OS

Sun Feb 24, 2008 4:32 am

what about mounting ROS drive in other linux system and changing password in /etc/passwd? did anyone try?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: how can I reset The OS

Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:51 pm

Me no... but seems a nice idea :D (what if it is encrypted there?)
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
User avatar
n2m
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:48 am

Re: how can I reset The OS

Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:45 am

i was going to try this for my graphs(old ones) :D. i had Ubuntu installed on my hdd(but i had removed later :shock: ). I needed to restore the old graphs(1 year :?), i still have them on my hdd. Pls tell me if this thing works and i will reinstall any linux distro :D.
Or a cooler way, use a Live CD :D, right on my router and i could restore them directly :D. I'll test this thing probably and with tell u the results :D. I will see if it can be done anything about password :S.

Have a nice day ;)

Edit: Tested this thing and it can't be done anything like that :?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 122 guests