Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
RobClem
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 12:45 pm
Contact:

WAN interface losing packets

Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:23 pm

I am having some possible issues with my MikroTik router.

We have been experiencing about 4% packet loss somewhere on our network. We
have checked our wireless links and they appear OK but when we ping through the
Mikrotik to the LAN side of our network we lose packets, we get the same when
we ping from within the LAN out through the WAN side of the router.

We got MRTG working yesterday and started to montitor stats on our WAN
interface - there were loads of errors on this interface and everytime we
dropped a ping this value incremented by 1.

We have swapped the router hardware out and this did not cure the fault so I
can only assume that it is a config issue somewhere in the MikroTik OS,
possibly with our static Bridge or Queues?

Has anyone had similar issues, can anyone offer any advise?

Cheers

Rob
 
tully
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:07 am

Fri Jun 25, 2004 12:46 pm

You should write to support@mikrotik.com with the supout file so that the configuration can be analyzed.

John
 
RobClem
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 12:45 pm
Contact:

Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:58 am

We have sent two support requests now but both without a reply.

How long does it take to respond to these requests?
 
RobClem
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 12:45 pm
Contact:

Thu Jul 01, 2004 11:47 am

Still no joy from Mikrotik support - they replied with a suggestion that we should not use a Bridge but no assistance as to how best to configure our router.

Just to confirm - If I run a ping from the Mikrotik gui to any radio connected through my LAN interface I do NOT lose any packets.

If I run a ping from the MikroTik GUI to a radio connected via my WAN interface I lose 4% of packets. I disconnect my WAN radio and plugged my laptop straight into it and the packet loss went away. I rebuilt a brand new router with the same config so eliminate hardware and still get packet loss when sending pings through my WAN interface

Can anyone offer any advise as to why this might be happening - could it be my Queues?
 
tully
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:07 am

Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:07 pm

We have seen the problem you are reporting when there is a loop in your bridging network. It is your responsibility to fix this. You can test for this. We can't.

John

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ivn, sfrode, sindy, Xtremer and 94 guests