Community discussions

 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Installing on a 1GB CF

Sat Mar 08, 2008 5:33 pm

Hello.

I just bought a 1GB CF (takeMS) and i was experimenting to install RouterOS on it. I managed to install a x86 version and the PC recognizes it, does the installation but when it reboots it doesn't boot in RouterOS but just says "error loading operating system". i checked all the bios settings and they seem fine.

After this i tried to install version 3.4 for RB600 and put it on my RB600 but netinstall doesn't permit me to do this...

How can i do it?? What am i missing? Is the 1GB capacity 2much perhaps???
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
ayufan
Member
Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Installing on a 1GB CF

Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:59 am

No absolutely not, I actually have 3.3 installed on 2GB CF. :)
hAP AC, TP-Link Archer C7 v2, RB951G, RB450G, RPI2, RPI zero
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Installing on a 1GB CF

Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:00 pm

Than maybe the problem with my card reader...

What's your experience on this??
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
abab_rafiq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: Dhaka

Re: Installing on a 1GB CF

Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:17 pm

I'd install Mikrotik 2.9.35 on my 40 GB HDD as well .. and put some service for 6 months also.

Rafiq...
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Installing on a 1GB CF

Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:48 pm

no.. i was asking with what CF adapter do u have good results...i tried 2 USb to CF adapters until now..and no luck :(
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Installing on a 1GB CF

Sun Mar 09, 2008 2:30 pm

Use IDE to CF adapters, they are a lot faster too.
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Installing on a 1GB CF

Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:59 pm

RouterOS will install on a 32 meg card if I remember. I use 64s now , but soon will be going to 256s as the smaller ones are becoming harder and harder to get.

Depending on the hardware you are installing it on, there are issues with the installation program booting and finishing the installation after you plopped it onto a CF. I have seen this with mostly USB readers and such. The installation program can't find the USB CF as an installation drive.

Best is to find a IDE to CF adapter, and install it. Once the OS is installed though, then you should be able to plug it into your CF USB reader and be happy.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Installing on a 1GB CF

Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:22 pm

What about installing the powerpc version to put the CF in a RB600. How can it be done??, i searched but it seems i can't find a step by step procedure for this..
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24280
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Installing on a 1GB CF

Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:04 am

routerboards will only boot from the NAND, the CF is a secondary drive for proxy cache and other things.

CF as bootable device will only work in X86 systems
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lambrechtsrob, MSN [Bot] and 82 guests