Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ratmmmam
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:15 pm

How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:32 pm

How many clients can I connect on a routerboard RB153 with 3xR52H (miniPCI).

Bandwidth should be some around 2Mbit (total).
Can I connect 30/50 clients per card? (or per routerboard)?
 
User avatar
smurphy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: Clermont / France
Contact:

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:59 pm

Euh - well - you'll see that the CPU used is able to handle roughly 10.4MBit/s bandwidth ...
Means - you can connect 5 Clients using 2MBit/s bandwidth at the same time ...

If speed is the reason you bought the RB153 for- then it's the wrong box.
Check this thread where I have made some tests ... http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=22215
 
ratmmmam
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:15 pm

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:18 pm

Thanks,

but 2Mbit is the total bandwidth to all clients on the radio, not 2Mbit per client.

My problem is that my RB153, with 35 clients connected (with peak's of 40/50), without encryption, with PQC, only acting as a transparent bridge, without conntrack, no firewall rules, with 2Mbit max throughput, 20% CPU usage performs terrible link's (ping's are about 2/3ms, but suddenly 2000/5000ms), the CCQ is about 90%, the SNR of the clients are very good (CCQ also). I don't know wath is wrong?

If this routerboard is not the ideal to my case, which one is? (30/50 clients per card, with total bandwith --all clients, not per client-- around 2Mbit)?
 
User avatar
smurphy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: Clermont / France
Contact:

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Tue Mar 25, 2008 5:05 pm

Just downloading a 4GB File - check the stats:
http://stargate.solsys.org/mod.php?mod= ... ist&host=2
CPU Load 100%, and barely over 10MBit ... most of the time ...

I don't know what the reason for slow traffic is on your side.
Did you activate remote logging - maybe you'll be able to see what the reason is.
But - some other questions: How many firewall rules are active, are you using traffic accounting ?
Are you using Dude for Monitoring ?
All of these do cost CPU Cycles ...
 
ratmmmam
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:15 pm

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Tue Mar 25, 2008 5:53 pm

accounting disabled
firewall, just one rule: forward/accept
connection tracking disabled
routerboard 153, current-firmware: 2.12, RouterOS: 3.6
disk usage: ~30M
main memory usage: ~12M
CPU utilization: ~15%
transparent bridge
cards AR5413: 3x ap-bridge, 2.4GHz-b, no WDS, radius auth (without encryption), no nstreme, 23dBm tx-power
35 clients, tx-rate: 1Mbit ~ 11Mbit, client's signal: -50 ~ -85dBm, traffic: ~700Kbit per card, total bridge: 1.5Mbit

logs, just some info about extensive data loss, but client bridge offline, so this is OK?

remains the primary question: how many clients can I put in this box? (2Mbit total link)

I replaced an Proxim AP2000 with this routerboard, the AP2000 was serving the same clients without problems, what's is wrong?
 
ratmmmam
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:15 pm

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Tue Mar 25, 2008 6:08 pm

More info: most of the time everything functions well, but during the peaks of 2Mbit everything (clients) is with high time pings.

PS - sorry my terrible english.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
fatonk
Member
Member
Posts: 439
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Mitrovica/Kosova

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Tue Mar 25, 2008 6:22 pm

Problem is with the number of clients not with bandwidth, number of clients is what saturates the capacity of the hardware. I do not use more than 30 clients per AP of that sort as yours.

Regards.

Faton
 
User avatar
smurphy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: Clermont / France
Contact:

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Tue Mar 25, 2008 6:48 pm

Configuration looks OK. As said - my next question would have been number of concurrent connections/clients...
The concurrent connections might be what is killing the performance on your device. But I can't provide you details on the max number of usable client-connections. sorry.
 
ratmmmam
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:15 pm

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:06 pm

Well, 35 clients e the routerboard hangs?

OK, if this is correct there is notingh to do, right? Just replace the box again. :(

Is there an other routerboard model to my case? (30/50 clients per card, 2/3Mbit throughput without performance degradation).

If I put RouterOS in some good/power common hardware PC with the same wireless cards AR5413 will resolve my problem?
 
User avatar
smurphy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: Clermont / France
Contact:

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:59 am

That should help - yes ...
Faster CPU should definitly help.
 
yancho
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 3:04 pm
Location: LV

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Wed Mar 26, 2008 1:31 pm

routerboard 153, current-firmware: 2.12, RouterOS: 3.6
I noticed that rb 153 works better with 2.9.x
We had one AP - 2 sectors about 20 clients per sector, after update to 3.x - traffic rates was ok, but it was almost impossible to winbox or telnet/ssh to this board. CPU load constantly was 100%.
 
ratmmmam
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:15 pm

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Wed Mar 26, 2008 8:45 pm

I was using 2.9.51... Same problem. The unique difference are that 3.6 has some strange incompatibility with bridges ovislink (WL-5460), I have to upgrade the firmware of all bridges (not original firmware).
 
ratmmmam
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:15 pm

Re: How many clients (RB153 3xR52H)

Wed Mar 26, 2008 8:50 pm

No one can tell me if there is a routerboard that work's? And a x86 PC?

I will put the Proxim AP 2000 back again... I will try to mount a PC with RouterOS and 3xR52. If this work I tell you.

35 clients and the routerboard hangs...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 46 guests