Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
rafa_lore
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Salta
Contact:

PPPoE Server + Layer 7 CRASH!!!

Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:27 pm

Hello
I want to know if I'm the only one who have problem with Layer 7. When MKT start working with its I tried and crashed.
Yesterday I again implemented the mangle packet with Layer 7, and mangle fantastic, queue tree work excelent. But in some moment the server PPPoE start killing clients and then stop working!!! And the only way to resolve it, is shuting down the server and turning on again!!! Also I can't get inside via ssh or Winbox.
Please if you know some solution, please let me know!!!
Thanks
Rafael Lore
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: PPPoE Server + Layer 7 CRASH!!!

Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:33 pm

Happening the same here.... V. 3.8...

Any ideas?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8346
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: PPPoE Server + Layer 7 CRASH!!!

Wed Apr 23, 2008 1:25 am

v3.8? where did you get it? :)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: PPPoE Server + Layer 7 CRASH!!!

Wed Apr 23, 2008 1:54 am

v3.8? where did you get it? :)
Sorry, typo = 3.7
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: PPPoE Server + Layer 7 CRASH!!!

Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:59 am

Rafal, Are there any changes, when Layer7 is disabled ?
 
rafa_lore
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Salta
Contact:

Re: PPPoE Server + Layer 7 CRASH!!!

Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:26 pm

hello sergejs
When I disable L7 it's start working wonderfull!!! without any problems. What I did is to enable only SkyPe Regexpr, and work!!! I have this MKT in a big server, 1 GB of RAM, core 2 dou, so is not that the machine can support its!!! When work with L7 the processor is only in 20 %, but suddenly CRASH!!!
So I came but to the lovely L3 mangle, with the only upgrade of Skype L7.
I think that L7 is growing up, so we have to wait if we want to do a professional works
Thanks
Rafael Lore
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: PPPoE Server + Layer 7 CRASH!!!

Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:37 pm

Almost same situation here except my CPU does go all the way UP to 100%, It keeps that way and the router starts to loose connectivity; not responding to pings, webmin can't connect or if it gets connected it only last for a few seconds, and suddenly the system reboots by itself (probably due to watchdog), when it cames back it can be either way: CPU go all the way up and the cycle repeats again and again till I switch OFF L7 mangle rules, or when it cames back it stays OK for something between a few minutes to a few hours.... I believe is a matter of traffic passing thru.

(I'm sending supout.rif file today)

My router is not as big as Rafa's, it is a Dell Poweredge 350 server w/PIII 1 Ghz and 512K Ram, only 20-30 PPPoE sessions.

Using only L3 Mangle rules it works flawless.

Any ideas?

Best Regards

Jorge Boardman
 
User avatar
hulk-bd
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: Uttara, Dhaka, Bangladesh

Re: PPPoE Server + Layer 7 CRASH!!!

Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:56 pm

rafa_lore,

Make sure your multicpu option is no. I have been running L-7 filter for more than 3 mangle rules and it's working just fine and this configuration is running more than 2 months in my MT OS.

Thanks
Don't worry, be happy :) .......
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: PPPoE Server + Layer 7 CRASH!!!

Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:13 pm

Where do you setup multicpu option = no?
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: PPPoE Server + Layer 7 CRASH!!!

Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:19 pm

found it :

/system hardware
set multi-cpu=no


It was = no

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], sid5632 and 101 guests