Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
CarulloS
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:52 am

RB44GV or RB44G

Wed Apr 09, 2008 6:34 am

I need one - do I want the newer via chipset card or the older realtek one? Same price, whats your feedback?

I leaning towards the via unless there have been problems...

Scott
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Wed Apr 09, 2008 9:34 am

VIA is better than Realtek, IMHO
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Thu Apr 10, 2008 2:50 pm

Realtek is EOL by Mikrotik so you want the VIA version.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
dingsingo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:47 pm
Location: Germany

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:47 pm

Hi,

RB44GV oder RB44G can work with more than MTu 1500 in MT Verson 3.x ??

Thx

dingsingo
 
meshnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:57 pm

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:25 pm

I have another case of bad RB44GV..

This one has ports that just stop transmitting.. I disable, and enable the port,
and it starts working again for about 12 hours...

RBV44GV 3.20....
 
User avatar
maximan
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:10 am
Location: Rio Cuarto, Argentina
Contact:

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:06 pm

when i use rb44gv sometime the pc reboot suddenly. I change it and problem resolved.
Max
MKE Solutions > Professional Support IT (Spanish / English)
FastNetMon / FNM Manager: DDoS Detection Tools.
 
Tonda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 12:59 pm

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:32 pm

I had to replace all my RB44G in routers based on Intel chipset by Intel network cards. I think problem with RB44G is somehow related to interrupt sharing. Problem appeared on two PC routers - identical hardware configuration, one of them used Mikrotik 2.9.51, another Mikrotik 3.X. The same problem appeared on both routers - after some time router stopped to pass packets from one RB44G interface to another. Sometimes this problem remained only one second, sometimes it was necessary to reboot the router, because failure took longer time. Because of this strange problem I would not recommend to use RB44G. There were no signs of any error in Mikrotik log, packets simply stopped to pass through interfaces. Problem is also mentioned somewhere in this forum - I tried to search informations when I have had this problem.
 
meshnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:57 pm

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:37 pm

I had to pull them.. I can't be called on to do QA for Mikrotik for these cards..
They have a problem, Mikrotik knows it, and they are still selling it..

Buyer beware I guess..

R
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:29 am

what are you talking about? I am not aware of any problem that would affect many people at once, maybe individual motherboard incompatibility in some rare cases
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
meshnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:57 pm

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:46 pm

Normis,

You have seen several threads on the forums for these cards.
I have tried it in two different supermicro intel based boards.
Other cards work perfect, and these don't. They drop ports.
I have heard this from several different people now, including my
vendor. I have dlink dfe-570tx, older matrox, rb44's, etc.. they all work
perfect, and these don't.

So, the correct assumption is to "be sure these work with your motherboard",
because they may, or may not... Maybe you need to put together a hardware
compatibility list for them? Which motherboards have you tested them with?

Is this "more" correct?

Richard
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:45 am

yes, but if there is a problem with this card in your motherboard (and you use RouterOS), you should make a supout.rif file and send to support, maybe the problem can be fixed. that would a lot more useful than just complaining
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
meshnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:57 pm

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:51 pm

I have...

I did that before I complained.
I have sent supout, hardware config, and you guys sent back
"can you put a queue in to see how much traffic is going thru it? "

I had to respond "no"... It's a core router... I can't keep enabling/disabling the ports
to keep them working.. I have paying customers to maintain.

R
 
meshnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:57 pm

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Tue Mar 10, 2009 5:00 pm

Just to clarify.. ALL other cards work great in these systems.
Supermicro P4 Motherboards

I have dlink dfe-570tx. - working great.
Matrox 4 port Intel chipset - working great
RB44 - working great..

I replaced two of these cards with the RB44GV to get gigabit capability..
The ports just drop off... you have to disable them, and reenabled them to make them work.

" I have asked...". You guys have the supout.rif ..

How come there are other threads on this forum for this board, if there isn't a problem?
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 18&start=0
There are lots users in that discussion with the same issue...

No problem eh?

R
 
Tonda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 12:59 pm

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Sun Mar 15, 2009 7:34 pm

I was able to simulate this problem (mentioned above in my first post) in this way: I use older Dell GX desktops for my routers with Mikrotik on DOM. I configured router so, that I was able to connect two PC's to two ports of RB44G and run bandwidth test between them, so Mikrotik only passed packets from one PC to another. No queues, no special firewall rules. When I configured interrupts in BIOS so, that two connected ports of RB44G shared the same interrupt - problem with stopped traffic arised after a while when running bandwidth test. When ports did not share one interrupt, everything was OK. So this is why I think that there is some problem in shared interrupt handling.
 
User avatar
jrecabeitia
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Villa Dolores - Cordoba - Argentina
Contact:

Re: RB44GV or RB44G

Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:24 pm

That board recommended me to replace RB44G because I am having serious problems.
Thank you all.
Javier

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 91 guests