Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
natanielklug
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:09 pm
Location: Cascavel/PR/Brasil

Very low performance using Mikrotik for routing (with Queue)

Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:43 pm

Hello all,

I am still having problems with Mikrotik used as router (just betwen my backbone, that cames from a Telco, and my internal network). My layout is just like this:
Image
Let me explain about the enviroment:
  • Internet: this is, for my tests, a linux box running CentOS v5.1 with VSFTPD and Apache installed so I can get files from there (download using ftp and http) and send files to it (using ftp). This is my "fake" internet so I can get full bandwidht with this connection. The server has 1 ethernet 10/100 Mbps (D-Link DFE-102)
  • Router: this is a Mikrotik system. In the first two tests I used RouterBoard (RB150 and RB333) and in the last test I made this using an IBM PC (Asus TUSI-M, Intel Pentium III 1,13 Ghz, 512 Mb RAM DIMM PC133). In RouterBoards I used RouterOS v3.7 and into the PC I used RouterOS v2.9.48
  • Clients: This is my laptop emulating a cliente getting info from the internet (download from linux box Apache/VSFTPD) and uploading using FTP
As you can see I have made something very simple and I need to get my traffic caming from the internet into the router, this will make a QoS for my internal network (using package mark and simple Queues). Lets see the tests I have made:

Tests using RB150 + RouterOS v3.7
So for this tests I have a RouterBoard RB150 (http://www.routerboard.com/comparison.html) and RouterOS v3.7. I have put a file (around 200 Mb size) into the server and I am getting this file from there using HTTP. In the same time I am trying to put a file (around 250 Mb size) into the server using FTP. This is what I get:
Image
I get almost all bandwidht alocated to download process and upload get only 500~600 Kbps. So I have canceled download process and this is what happens:
Image
All bandwidht comes to upload.

As you can see I am not getting upload/download usage as it should be. I have an export os my RB150 configuration file (this is at the end of this post).

What do I want to do is if a client wants to make upload an download using ethernet 10/100 Mbps it should get 6 Mbps for each side, simultaneously. Not for a side and later for another.

Tests using RB333 + RouterOS v3.7
In another post about this problem I founded out that it could be CPU overcapacity problem. So I have a RB333 RouterBoard and tested the same thing:
Image
Here I am downloading (http) and uploading at the same time.
Image
Here I have canceled download and let just upload (ftp).

So my CPU problem is solved (at least where I can see it) and the problem continues.

Tests using IBM PC + RouterOS v2.9.48
For my final test I have instaled RouterOS demo version v2.9.48 and tested the same layout. First I have made a test without any kind of filters to see how much bandwidth I could get:
Image
I can get up to 35 Mbps each side so, I presume, its perfectly ok.

Now I have made the same Queue as I have done before:
Image
Here I am downloading and uploading at the same time (same problem as I get into RouterBoard).
Image
And here I have canceled my download.

Conclusions and questions:
I could not understand what happened here. I need to make a QoS system to run into Mikrotik before my local network but I need to get at least 6 Mbps for download at the same time as I get 6 Mbps for my upload (my backbone will have this much capacity).

So, how can I do this? Is there any configuration problem? Could it still be related to CPU usage? Or memory usage?

Waiting for any help...

PS.: I have made a cross-post into under-linux.org (Brazil) and Routerboard forums.

Att,

Nataniel Klug
Cyber Nett
Laranjeiras do Sul - PR - Brazil

EXPORT CONFIGURATION FILES
http://www.cnett.com.br/nata/mikrotik/c ... _rb150.txt
http://www.cnett.com.br/nata/mikrotik/c ... _rb333.txt
http://www.cnett.com.br/nata/mikrotik/c ... iumIII.txt
 
User avatar
natanielklug
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:09 pm
Location: Cascavel/PR/Brasil

Re: Very low performance using Mikrotik for routing (with Queue)

Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:05 pm

Please... Anyone?! Some help needed!
 
User avatar
jfrater
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 9:05 pm
Location: Costa Rica
Contact:

Re: Very low performance using Mikrotik for routing (with Queue)

Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:52 am

Did you fix this yet?

BTW have you tried just making one simple queue at one interface? (intead of 2 rules)

Like queue>general>max TX>6M and max RX>6M then on advanced interface> xxxx

It's what I use and it works fine....

Jorge
 
User avatar
natanielklug
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:09 pm
Location: Cascavel/PR/Brasil

Re: Very low performance using Mikrotik for routing (with Queue)

Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:10 pm

Did you fix this yet?

BTW have you tried just making one simple queue at one interface? (intead of 2 rules)

Like queue>general>max TX>6M and max RX>6M then on advanced interface> xxxx

It's what I use and it works fine....

Jorge
Dear Jorge,

I did not fixed it and I have quite on trying this.

Yes. I have tried 1 simple queue... no good. Tryed to make queue treens (using package marks), just the same problem. I am making this QoS using a Linux Box (running CentOS) and it is working fine (in the same equipment that I have tested Mikrotik RouterOS, PIII, 1,13 Ghz, 512 RAM and Mobo Asus Tusi-M).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kos and 47 guests