Community discussions

 
stutteringp0et
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:37 pm

Radius MAC authentication problem

Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:16 am

is it possible to send the mac address in lower case instead of upper case. Authenticating against Cisco ACS with a mixture of Cisco AP 1200 and mikrotik access points. Cisco sends password in lower case, need mikrotik to match
 
User avatar
taglio
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:55 pm
Location: 34T, Barcelona, Spain

Re: Radius MAC authentication problem

Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:03 pm

I know that this is an old POST, but a customer of mine have exactly this problem. Anyone have a solution?

Please reply,

Best Regards,

RG.
.mhavoc world
 
User avatar
taglio
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:55 pm
Location: 34T, Barcelona, Spain

Re: Radius MAC authentication problem

Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:59 am

No reply mk team?
.mhavoc world
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Radius MAC authentication problem

Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:18 pm

a few hours is not enough for answer =) also, you'd better write to support at mikrotik dot com
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
taglio
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:55 pm
Location: 34T, Barcelona, Spain

Re: Radius MAC authentication problem

Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:40 am

@Chupaka: i agree with you about that is better to send email to support at mikrotik dot com. But i also thing that using forum is better for community help.

So now i'll send email to please answer at this post :)
.mhavoc world
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Radius MAC authentication problem

Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:14 pm

unfortunately, community still cannot modify ROS directly =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
jirristols
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 4:36 pm
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Radius MAC authentication problem

Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:38 pm

Hi,

I am using hotspot on MikroTik V3.30 and my external radius server (Emerald Management suite V.5 with RadiusNT) cannot create a username with ":" as a character.

I am trying to do MAC Authentication on a private office network where bandwidth needs to be measured websites blocked and authentication has to be transparent.

I have set up the MAC Authentication on Usermanager a lot with no problems but the problem is the format that mikrotik uses for MAC addresses XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX. Even if I set the => Hotspot > Server Profile > Hsprof1 > Radius > MAC Format to XX-XX-XX-XX-XX-XX this only shows up as the caller ID in my Radius online list but it doesn't look like that in the HotSpot hosts list. I believe this MAC Format feature is only for accounting not for Authentication. Is there a way that the MAC format used for Authentication in can be changed to "-" or "_" instead of ":"

In userman the MAC User must be set to xx:xx:... to be able to Auth all other formats are ignored as MAC's and thought of as strings for usernames. Even if I can use XXXXXXXXXXXX as MAC this would help.

Please Help!
Thanks for the link to the original forum(*thread), so I am basically stuck until ROS can be modified by the community?

Because this is a ROS issue completely i think this should be a feature request.
We should be able to define the format of MAC's as there is no standard accross platforms.

Someone from the Mikrotik Team Please answer
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Radius MAC authentication problem

Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:59 pm

I think there is already a standard mac address format: XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
I think there is also a format for ip addresses: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Maybe you should contact the software company and inform them the software does not conform to recommended internet standards. That would be a good way for you to help with the standardization! :D

ADD: After a quick check of the RFCs, the XX-XX-XX-XX-XX-XX mac format should also be recognized. That would be a MikroTik concern if it does not use the hyphens (-) in the user name.
 
jirristols
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 4:36 pm
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Radius MAC authentication problem

Fri Mar 26, 2010 4:27 pm

Exaclty what I was thinking, hyphens would solve my problems.

If only MikroTik would conform :D but when this would happen is another thing altogether.

I don't know if this is dumb but would it be possible to use some type of script for this?
Or have userman be a server to the hostpot but also a client to another radius?
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Radius MAC authentication problem

Fri Mar 26, 2010 6:07 pm

Exaclty what I was thinking, hyphens would solve my problems.
If only MikroTik would conform
Maybe you should email support (at) mikrotik.com with your problem. Maybe they don't know it does that.
 
jirristols
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 4:36 pm
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Radius MAC authentication problem

Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:24 am

I will give that a try, thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 141 guests