Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
AsDsL
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:25 am

Loading system with Initrd, after Upgrade from 2.9 to 3.7

Tue Apr 29, 2008 4:49 pm

Loading system with Initrd, after Upgrade from 2.9 to 3.7

I have been reading about it in the forum, after that I can’t find a solution.
Is there a fix for it?
Is it a Kernel problem?

The Router OS is installed in a DOM, Tyan s5161, Pentium D 950, 2gb Mem. It works perfectly on other system AMD single Processor.

Thanks,
AsDsL
 
AsDsL
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:25 am

Re: Loading system with Initrd, after Upgrade from 2.9 to 3.7

Sun May 04, 2008 6:12 am

Oh God!
where is MT Tech Sup?
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Loading system with Initrd, after Upgrade from 2.9 to 3.7

Sun May 04, 2008 7:07 am

 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Loading system with Initrd, after Upgrade from 2.9 to 3.7

Sun May 04, 2008 11:34 pm

Do you have a backup of the router? If so you can do a netinstall onto the CF using a cF adapter and any windows machine running Netinstall. This should repair the problem as it initiates a fresh install when the CF is first booted on the target machine. It wont affect the license either. Afterwards you can restore from backup. I have found certain (x86) hardware does not like the upgrade.

You can also try the same directly on the target machine using a CD install. It will also retain your license using this method.
savagedavid
MTCE+T (MikroTik Certified Everything + Trainer)
MikroTik support and training in South Africa
http://www.mikrotiksa.com
david [at] mikrotiksa dot com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ilja, MSN [Bot], naxos and 122 guests